House Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio) speaks during a news conference on Capitol Hill on May 8. (J. Scott Applewhite/AP)

House Speaker John A. Boehner announced the seven Republicans who will work on the newly minted House Select Committee on Benghazi, tapping a diverse set of members that excludes many of the most vocal critics of the Obama administration's handling of the 2012 attacks.

Boehner tapped Reps. Susan Brooks (R-Ind.), Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Mike Pompeo (R-Kan.), Rep. Martha Roby (R-Ala.), Peter Roskam (R-Ill.) and Lynn Westmoreland (R-Ga.).They join Rep. Trey Gowdy (R-S.C.), who was named chairman of the committee last week. The roster notably excludes many of the Republican caucus' most vocal members when it comes to the ongoing investigation into whether the Obama administration correctly handled the 2012 attacks.

“This investigation is about getting answers for the families of the victims and for the American people. These members have each demonstrated a commitment to this goal, and I have confidence that they will lead a serious, fact-based inquiry," Boehner said in a statement. "As I have expressed to each of them, I expect this committee to carry out an investigation worthy of the American lives lost in Benghazi."

Democrats remain openly divided over whether they will participate in the committee. Some members have called for a Democratic boycott of the committee, while others favor appointing at least one Democrat to serve on the panel.

The Democratic caucus will huddle Friday afternoon in hopes of making a final decision on whether to participate.

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi told reporters Friday morning that family members of two of the four Americans killed in the 2012 Benghazi attacks have voiced opposition to the formation of the select committee.

"(They) have called us and said: Please don't take us down this path again," Pelosi said.