To pull off an upset of the two-time defending NCAA Division I women's lacrosse champion and previously unbeaten Maryland in Sunday's final, the North Carolina Tar Heels got a lot of help from some players who grew up not too far from the College Park campus.

Also seeing time in the triumphant game were former All-Mets and current Tar Heel freshmen Charlotte Sofield (Bishop Ireton) and Caroline Wakefield (Centreville).

Meantime, Maryland's roster featured former All-Mets Meghan Doherty (Mount Hebron), Molly Fleming (Marriotts Ridge), Jen Giles (Mount Hebron), Caroline Steele (Severna Park), Zoe Stukenberg (Marriotts Ridge) and Morgan Torggler (Severna Park), as well as Alex McKay (Marriotts Ridge), Megan Taylor (Glenleg) and Caroline Wannen (Blake). Steele netted two goals while Stukenberg had one goal for the Terps.

Reed's journey to becoming a key member of UNC's first championship team since 2013 has been a circuitous one. After scoring a ridiculous 475 career goals for the Saints, second most in girls high school lacrosse history, the then-attacker stepped up for the injury-riddled Tar Heels to net 35 goals as a freshman.

Her sophomore year brought much less playing time and a downturn on the stat sheet (eight goals and two assists in just 11 games) and this spring, the Tar Heel coaches decided to convert her into a midfielder. It wasn't until last month that Reed re-entered the starting lineup, leading to a four-goal performance in the ACC Championship and her Final Four heroics.

The same two schools will face off Monday in the men's lacrosse championship, and again, plenty of local talent will take the field.

For the Tar Heels, Jack Rowlett, a two-time All-Met at Robinson, has continued his impressive play in Chapel Hill as one of the country's top defenders. Joining him at UNC are Joe Kenna (St. Stephen's/St. Agnes) and Ryan O'Connor (Paul VI).

On the Maryland side, a bevy of former local standouts will look to lead the Terrapins to their first national championship in 41 years. The who's who of former All-Mets includes Scott Bruner (Howard), Isaiah Davis-Allen (St. Stephen's/St. Agnes), Louis Dubick (Churchill), Colin Giblin (Georgetown Prep), Dylan Maltz (Stone Bridge) and Timothy Monahan (Gonzaga).

Tune into ESPN2 at 1 p.m. to see them in action.

By beating Chopticon, 7-2, Sherwood won its fifth straight Maryland 4A softball title Friday, extending a remarkable run that's featured 103 (!) straight victories.

Shyheim Wright took first in three events (and nearly won a fourth) in the Maryland 4A outdoor track and field championships to lead Northwest's boys to its first title since 2013. Click here to read the story on who else won Saturday and check out photos from the action below.

Maryland 2A and 3A state baseball championships, 3 and 6 p.m.
The Maryland baseball season will come to a close on Memorial Day with a local doubleheader at Ripken Stadium. In the 2A final, La Plata takes on Williamsport, followed by Huntingtown and Chesapeake in the 3A championship. Follow me on Twitter (@brandoncparker) for live updates.
Have a safe Memorial Day and thanks to all those veterans who gave the ultimate sacrifice for our country!