Our photographer colleague Rebecca D’Angelo goes to a party every week and does her thing for a regular feature in the Sunday Style section called The Scene. This week it was the National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation’s 15th Annual Celebration of Service to America Awards Dinner held at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center on Monday, June 3. Want to invite her to your party? Email her at thescene@washpost.com.

Stevie Wonder, who received NABEF’s Service to America Leadership Award, for his work as U.N. peace ambassador and disabilities activist, with Rep. Greg Walden (R-OR) who used to own radio stations.

Rep. Richard Hudson (R-N.C.) greets Tim Morrissey, president and general manager of Charlotte’s WCNC.


Judy Kuriansky, the psychologist known as “Dr. Judy” on her radio talk show, with Rep., Grace Napolitano (D-Calif), talking with Kevin Cuddihy, president of Univision, and Brian Dyak, president and CEO of the PRISM Awards.


Acting FCC Chairwoman Mignon Clyburn.


Lizzy Johnson of Salt Lake City’s KSL, which received the Service to Children Award for Television prize, with her mother, Julie Rader.


The gala emcee, Deborah Norville, anchor for “Inside Edition.”


Bruce T. Reese, president and CEO Hubbard Radio and NABEF board chair.


Former Sen. Gordon Smith, now the president and CEO of the National Association of Broadcasters, with Marci Burdick, NAB’s Television Board Chair, and Paul Karpowicz of Meredith Corporation and chairman of the NAB board.


Linda and Marcellus W. Alexander, Jr., president of the NABEF and executive vice president for television of NAB.


Miss America Mallory Hagan with Steve Hammel, vice president and general manager of WRAL5 in Raleigh, N.C.


Earlier in The Scene

More Reliable Source