The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

Who are the fastest lawmakers? The ACLI Capital Challenge race honors the fleet-footed.

Governor Dirk Kempthorne, celebrity athlete Meb Keflezighi and Sen. Tom Cotton (R-AR) at the D.C. Capital Challenge race. (Robert Burgess)

Who says things move slowly on Capitol Hill?

Lawmakers, journalists, federal judges, top White House aides and at least one Cabinet secretary suited up for the annual pre-work ACLI Capital Challenge three-mile race Wednesday. Sen. Tom Cotton (R-Ark.) and Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.) were the fastest male and female senators, while on the House side, Reps. Beto O’Rourke (D-Tex.) and Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.) came out on top.

The speediest agency head was Office of Management and Budget chief Shaun Donovan. It was the 35th installment of the race, which benefits the Fidelco Guide Dog Foundation, a charity providing guide dogs for the blind.

The competition also features a non-athletic component — the award for the best team name went to AARP Magazine’s “Antique Roadshow,” while “Make America Graves Again,” the team headed by Rep. Tom Graves (R-Ga.), went home with the worst-name honors (although they had stiff competition from second-worst “If You’re not First you’re Ballast,” a gang from the Federal Maritime Commission).