Maryland’s Mullins wins Hermann Trophy

Patrick Mullins and Crystal Dunn are Hermann winners. (Missouri Athletic Club) Patrick Mullins and Crystal Dunn are the 2012 Hermann Trophy winners. (Missouri Athletic Club)

Patrick Mullins became the second Maryland men’s player in history Friday to win the Hermann Trophy, given to the standout college soccer players in the nation.

The junior forward from Louisiana beat out Notre Dame’s Ryan Finley and Creighton’s Jose Gomez to join Jason Garey (2005) as the only Terrapins to receive the honor since its founding in 1967. (Garey is also from Louisiana.)

Mullins (17 goals, 10 assists) was a first-team all-American and ACC offensive player of the year in leading Maryland to the league title and NCAA College Cup semifinals.

Last month he turned down an MLS Generation Adidas contract offer and, unless he has a change of heart about turning pro early, will become the first Hermann winner to return to school since Connecticut’s O’Brian White won the award in 2007 and played for the Huskies the following season. Mullins is a double major scheduled to graduate in December.

With the return of Georgetown junior forward Steve Neumann, a Hermann semifinalist and three-goal scorer against Maryland in the semifinals, the Washington area will boast two of the country’s elite players next season.

Crystal Dunn, a junior forward from North Carolina, won the women’s Hermann Trophy. Penn State senior midfielder Christine Nairn (Arnold, Md.) finished second and Virginia senior forward Caroline Miller (Rockville, Md.) was third.

Votes were cast by hundreds of coaches around the country. Fan balloting accounted for the equivalent of one coach’s vote.

Steven Goff is The Post’s soccer writer. His beats include D.C. United, MLS and the international game, as well as local college basketball.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Next Story
Steven Goff · January 11, 2013

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.