The Washington Post

Hall of Fame voting goes to 2nd ballot

None of the 22 former players on the National Soccer Hall of Fame ballot this year were included on two-thirds of the submitted ballots, triggering a second round of voting that consists of five finalists.

Alphabetically, they are Chris Armas, Marco Etcheverry, Shannon MacMillan, Joe-Max Moore and Cindy Parlow.

Those who cast ballots in the first round have been asked to list, in order, their preferences among the five finalists. The top finisher will be announced at the end of this month and gain entry into the Hall of Fame.

As I wrote last month, there is one clear choice.

Among the candidates not to make the top five were Tony Sanneh, Chris Henderson and Taylor Twellman.

Steven Goff is The Post’s soccer writer. His beats include D.C. United, MLS and the international game, as well as local college basketball.
Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.