Joe-Max Moore, the fifth-highest scorer in U.S. men’s national team history with 24 goals, beat out four other finalists for election into the National Soccer Hall of Fame, the USSF announced Wednesday.

Peter Vermes, a longtime player and current Sporting Kansas City coach, will join Moore in the Class of 2013, earning the most votes in the Veteran category.

Moore, in his penultimate year of eligibility on the Player ballot, finished ahead of Marco Etcheverry, Chris Armas, Cindy Parlow and Shannon MacMillan. The vote count was not released.

The election went to a second round with five finalists after none of the 22 eligible players were named on two-thirds of the submitted ballots in the first stage.

The Hall of Fame museum no longer exists. Amid financial problems, the facility in Oneonta, N.Y., was shut down in 2010. U.S. officials would like to find a new location in the coming years.

Nonetheless, elections are held annually and individuals are honored in conjunction with a U.S. soccer event. Last year, the induction ceremony took place at FedEx Field before the U.S.-Brazil friendly.

This year’s date and site have not been named yet, although the U.S.-Germany friendly June 2 at RFK Stadium would make a lot of sense. The USSF’s annual general meeting will be held in Washington in the days leading to the match, as well.

RFK would be an apt venue for both Moore and Vermes: Moore scored a late go-ahead goal against Argentina there in a 1999 friendly and Vermes won the 2000 MLS Cup with Kansas City in D.C.

Voting in the Player category were current and former U.S. men’s and women’s national team coaches; several MLS and NWSL coaches; MLS and NWSL management representatives; MLS Commissioner Don Garber; NWSL Executive Director Cheryl Bailey; U.S. Soccer Secretary General Dan Flynn; U.S. Soccer President Sunil Gulati; designated reporters; and all of the Hall of Famers.