D.C. United supporters have endured an avalanche of misery this season, so Wednesday’s announcement that Jaime Moreno had been elected to the club’s Hall of Tradition by an overwhelming count was a refreshing change of pace.

What’s the catch? No catch. Just raw, simple good news.

Moreno, who retired from MLS after the 2010 season, received 87 percent of the votes cast by fans. Carlos Llamosa, Tony Sanneh and Alecko Eskandarian never had a chance against United’s most accomplished player in his first year of eligibility.

Moreno joins John Harkes, Marco Etcheverry, Jeff Agoos, Raul Diaz Arce, Eddie Pope, Richie Williams and Ben Olsen on the honorary list. He will be honored at halftime of the Sept. 15 match against the Los Angeles Galaxy at RFK Stadium.

To salute the Bolivian forward, Comcast SportsNet in Washington will present “Moreno Moments” each night next week — a replay of a match from yesteryear.