Morgan Brian and Patrick Mullins (Missouri Athletic Club photo) Morgan Brian and Patrick Mullins (Missouri Athletic Club photo)

Players from Washington area programs swept college soccer’s most prestigious individual awards Friday night as Maryland senior Patrick Mullins and Virginia junior Morgan Brian were named the Hermann Trophy winners.

Mullins became the first repeat men’s winner since Virginia’s Mike Fisher in 1995-96 and the second Terrapin ever to receive the honor, joining fellow Louisiana native Jason Garey (2005). Mullins led the nation in scoring with 19 goals and propelled Maryland to the College Cup final, a 2-1 loss to Notre Dame last month.

Fighting Irish senior forward Harrison Shipp was second in the voting, followed by UCLA junior midfielder Leo Stolz. Mullins, second on Maryland’s career scoring list with 47 goals, will be among the top picks at the MLS draft Thursday in Philadelphia. Shipp signed a homegrown contract with the Chicago Fire. Stolz plans to return for his senior year.

Brian, a Georgia native, led the ACC in scoring (46 points) with 16 goals and a program-record 14 assists. Virginia was ranked No. 1 in the country most of the season and lost to eventual champion UCLA on semifinal penalty kicks. She was called into the U.S. national team several times in 2013 and is on pace to become a regular leading to the 2015 Women’s World Cup.

Morgan Brian, with Coach Steve Swanson (University of Virginia photo) Morgan Brian, with Coach Steve Swanson (Missouri Athletic Club photo)

Brian became the first Cavalier woman to win the Hermann. Virginia men have won it five times.

North Carolina senior midfielder Crystal Dunn, the 2012 winner, finished second and UCLA junior defender Abby Dahlkepmer was third. The Washington Spirit is expected to select Dunn with the first pick in the NWSL draft Friday in Philadelphia.

The Hermann Trophy is presented by the Missouri Athletic Club. The awards ceremony was held in St. Louis.