Kristine Lilly and Brian McBride, two of the most accomplished players in U.S. history, have been elected to the National Soccer Hall of Fame in their first year of eligibility.

Bob Bradley, who guided the national team at the 2010 World Cup and enjoyed a long college and MLS coaching career, was named in the builder category.

Lilly is the world-record holder for international appearances with 352 over a 24-year career that included 130 goals, two Women’s World Cup titles and two Olympic gold medals. McBride was on three World Cup squads and, between 1993 and 2006, scored 30 goals (1o in World Cup qualifiers) over 95 matches. Bradley coached Egypt’s national team in 2014 World Cup qualifying and is currently in charge of Norwegian club Stabaek.

The USSF will announce the date and location of the induction ceremony at a later date.

Most notable omission: Briana Scurry (173 caps, 71 shutouts, 3 World Cups, 2 Olympics).

Others notables to fall short: Jaime Moreno, Steve Ralston, Shannon MacMillan, Taylor Twellman and Jason Kreis.

I will post the voting results as soon as they become available …