Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon is the ACC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association announced on Sunday. The senior had 38 votes to runner up Brice Johnson of North Carolina’s eight for Player of the Year. Brogdon is the first player to earn to both honors since the league instituted the defensive award in 2005.

Miami Coach Jim Larranaga earned Coach of the Year honors with 24 votes to Virginia Tech Coach Buzz Williams’s 22.

Brogdon, the third Virginia player to earn the honor along with three-time winner Ralph Sampson (1981-83) and Barry Parkhill (1972), led the Cavaliers with 18.4 points per game throughout the regular season and 19.9 points per game in conference play. He’s the fourth-best scorer in the ACC heading into the conference tournament. He was also named to the all-ACC first team for the third consecutive season, one of four Virginia players in program history to be so honored.

The fifth-year senior has been one of Virginia’s best players as the program notched one of its most successful periods in history. He’s led the team in scoring for the past three years and helped the Cavaliers win at least 12 ACC games in each of the past three seasons, which Virginia previously hadn’t achieved since 1983. The team’s 45 ACC wins over the past three years are the second most in league history.

Brogdon scored s season-high 28 points three different times this season and notched a game-high 26 against North Carolina on Feb. 27 for his 15th 20-point game of the season. His 17 points in Virginia’s regular season finale against Louisville was his 29th straight game scoring in double figures.

The Atlanta native, currently pursuing a Master’s degree in public policy, is also one of 15 finalists for the John R. Wooden award, presented to the nation’s top player.

Second-seeded Virginia (24-6, 13-5 ACC) begins ACC tournament play on Thursday at 7 p.m. at the Verizon Center against either Clemson or Georgia Tech.

Here are the other league honors that were announced Sunday:

All-ACC first team
Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina, *255
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia, *255
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State, 249
Grayson Allen, So., Duke, 247
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson, 213

All-ACC second team
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse, 155
Sheldon McClellan, Sr., Miami, 136
Demetrius Jackson, Jr., Notre Dame, 130
Brandon Ingram, Fr., Duke, 129
Damion Lee, Sr., Louisville, 90

All-ACC third team
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech, 76
Anthony Gill, Sr., Virginia, 70
Zach Auguste, Sr., Notre Dame, 45
Michael Young, Jr., Pittsburgh, 37
Angel Rodriguez, Sr., Miami, 35

All-ACC honorable mention
Justin Jackson, North Carolina
Tonye Jekiri, Miami
Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech
Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville
Marcus Paige, North Carolina
London Perrantes, Virginia
Devin Thomas, Wake Forest

ACC all-freshman team
Brandon Ingram, Duke, *51
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State, 50
Malik Beasley, Florida State, 49
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse, 34
Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest, 28

ACC all-defensive team
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia, 49
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami, 39
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse, 36
Landry Nnoko, Sr., Clemson, 30
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville, 27

ACC Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia, 38
Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina, 9
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State, 3
Grayson Allen, So., Duke, 1

ACC Freshman of the Year
Brandon Ingram, Duke, 48
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State, 1
Malik Beasley, Florida State, 1
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse, 1

ACC Coach of the Year
Jim Larrañaga, Miami, 24
Buzz Williams, Virginia Tech, 22
Tony Bennett, Virginia, 2
Roy Williams, North Carolina, 1
Brad Brownell, Clemson, 1
Brian Gregory, Georgia Tech, 1

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia, 39
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami, 9
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse, 1
Marshall Plumlee, Sr., Duke, 1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville, 1

ACC Most Improved Player of the Year
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson, 21
Grayson Allen, So., Duke, 15
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State, 4
Zach LeDay, Jr., Virginia Tech, 4
Ja’Quan Newton, So., Miami, 2
Joel Berry, So., North Carolina, 2
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech, 1
Dennis Clifford, Sr., Boston College, 1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville, 1

ACC Sixth Man of the Year
Isaiah Hicks, Jr., North Carolina, 19
Ja’Quan Newton, So., Miami, 12
Luke Kennard, Fr., Duke, 7
Tyler Lydon, Fr., Syracuse, 6
Devon Bookert, Sr., Florida State, 6
Sheldon Jeter, Jr., Pittsburgh, 1

*indicates a unanimous selection