HOUSTON — Voters for the Pro Football Hall of Fame again turned away the second-most productive receiver in NFL history, Terrell Owens, but elected a seven-member class Saturday that includes running back LaDainian Tomlinson and quarterback Kurt Warner.

Running back Terrell Davis, defensive end Jason Taylor and kicker Morten Andersen also were chosen from among the modern era finalists for enshrinement in Canton, Ohio. Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones was elected as a contributor, and former Seattle Seahawks safety Kenny Easley was chosen as the nominee of the seniors committee.

The class might be more notable for who wasn’t elected than for who was. Owens ranks second in league history in career receiving yards. He trails only Jerry Rice in that category. Yet Owens was passed over by the voters for a second straight year, apparently because of his history of clashing with his teams and, on occasion, teammates.

Owens wrote on Twitter that the Hall of Fame “is a total joke. Honestly, doesn’t mean anything to me to get in beyond this point.”

Tomlinson and Taylor were elected in their first year of eligibility. Tomlinson, who spent most of his career with the San Diego Chargers, ranks fifth on the NFL’s career rushing list and was regarded as the closest thing to a lock in this year’s class.

“Of course I cried,” Tomlinson said. “Let’s just get that out of the way right now. It was a long day, just thinking about it. . . . It’s like nothing else that I’ve ever experienced.”

Warner was a two-time league MVP for the St. Louis Rams and started Super Bowls for two different teams, the Rams and Arizona Cardinals.

Warner pointed out that David Baker, the Hall of Fame’s president, was the commissioner of the Arena Football League when Warner played in it.

“It was special, as it is for all of us. . . . My journey is unlike anybody else’s,” Warner said. “It’s just such an honor to end up in Canton.”

Taylor was a superb pass rusher over 15 seasons with the Miami Dolphins, Washington Redskins and New York Jets. He amassed 139 1/2 career sacks, seventh best in league history.

“I’m still trying to figure out what I’m doing here,” Taylor said.

Andersen becomes the second full-time kicker to be chosen for the Hall of Fame, joining Jan Stenerud. Hall of Famers George Blanda and Lou Groza were kickers who also played other positions.

“It’s pretty mind-blowing right now,” said Andersen, the NFL’s career scoring leader who kicked for the New Orleans Saints and Atlanta Falcons, among other teams.

Davis was elected as a runner who was extremely dominant but over an extremely brief span. He had four straight 1,000-yard seasons at the outset of his career with the Denver Broncos. He topped 1,500 yards in each of the final three of those seasons, including a 2,008-yard season in 1998. But he never again reached even 800 rushing yards in a season.

“I’m shocked,” said Davis, a key contributor to two Broncos’ Super Bowl triumphs with quarterback John Elway. “I followed the process the last couple years. . . . I felt that it was getting close. But the one caveat was L.T. [Tomlinson] being in the same class, and I knew he was going in.”

Easley was a five-time Pro Bowl selection and was voted to the NFL’s all-decade team of the 1980s.

Jones owned the Cowboys for three Super Bowl titles in the 1990s and has been one of the key figures in the game’s financial growth.

“I had a choice when I bought the Dallas Cowboys and I’d been involved in business,” Jones said. “I’d been involved in a lot of things. I wanted to be over the thrill of winning. I wanted to be over honoring guys like this.”

Former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue, also nominated as a contributor, failed to secure the necessary votes to be elected. Tagliabue presided over a period of labor peace, escalating popularity and economic prosperity. But some voters seemed to take issue with his handling of the sport’s concussion issue.

Also failing to gain election were modern era finalists Tony Boselli, Isaac Bruce, Don Coryell, Brian Dawkins, Alan Faneca, Joe Jacoby, Ty Law, John Lynch and Kevin Mawae.