Three Maryland athletes were among 36 honored by the ACC with the 2013 Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarship Award, including senior defensive lineman A.J. Francis.

Owen Blye (men’s lacrosse) and Katie Schwarzmann (women’s lacrosse) were the two other Terps recipients, who will receive $5,000 to fund their postgraduate education. Three scholarships are awarded to each ACC school. According to a news release, worthy winners are judged “based on academic record, athletic versatility, interest in university and community life, and the athlete’s commitment to ideals and values in their professional lives.”

Francis, who finished his senior season with nine tackles for a loss, three blocked kicks and three fumble recoveries, is currently training in Florida for Maryland’s pro day on March 13. 

Through two games for undefeated Maryland, Blye ranks third on the team with seven points. The preseason honorable mention all-American is also tied for first with six goals. Schwarzmann recently notched a career-high seven goals on the road, as the Terps topped Syracuse, 19-11, on Sunday.

“This is a tremendous and very well-deserved honor for Katie, Owen and A.J.,” Athletic Director Kevin Anderson said in a statement. “These student-athletes are terrific leaders in the classroom and on the field and represent the very best at the University of Maryland.”