“Everyone clap. Football is here.”

With spring practices kicking off Saturday at 10:35 a.m., the Maryland football team released its first depth chart for the upcoming season.  Very few surprises here. Coach Randy Edsall basically broke down the depth chart at Monday’s press conference, and everything is as expected.

Here are some brief notes from the list. The full depth chart is below.

>> Four first-string positional battles are currently listed. Sal Conaboy and Evan Mulrooney at center; Quinton Jefferson and Justin Anderson at defensive end; Alex Twine and Avery Johnson at outside linebacker; Sean Davis and A.J. Hendy at safety. P.J. Gallo and Brian McMahon are also listed as co-third-string tight ends.

>> With Marcus Leak sidelined for the spring, sophomore Nigel King assumes a starting receiver spot alongside Stefon Diggs and Deon Long. King finished last season with nine catches for 125 yards and one touchdown and appeared in all 12 games.

>> Brandon Ross opens spring as the starting running back, with Wes Brown out this spring. Ross, a rising sophomore, topped 100 yards against both Clemson and North Carolina to close 2012.

>>Will Likely (third-string cornerback) and Silvano Altamirano (backup guard) are the other spring arrivals besides Long. Long will wear jersey number 6, Likely will wear 4 and Altamirano will wear 68.

>> The Terps also added three transfers this spring: redshirt freshman punter Sam Retzky (Tulane), senior wide receiver T.J. Ehrie (Frostburg State) and redshirt freshman defensive lineman Joe Rosenblatt (Georgetown). All three are listed on the depth chart as backups.

>> As expected, Ricardo Young will open spring as the first-string quarterback. C.J. Brown will perform individual work and possibly non-contact drills. Dustin Dailey will back up Young.

>> Sophomore safety Zach Dancel, who sat out last season after transferring from New Mexico, debuts as the backup safety behind Anthony Nixon.

>> Special teams remained unchanged from last season, with Brad Craddock (kicker), Nathan Renfro (punter) and Greg Parcher (long snapper) all retaining their starting spots. Edsall had benched Craddock for Brendan Magistro on extra points towards the end of last season due to inconsistencies.

FULL DEPTH CHART (Starters bolded; strings separated by slashes)


WR: Jr. Deon Long \\ RS-Fr. Amba Etta \\ Sr. James Bowman

T: So. Mike Madras \\ So. Ryan Doyle

G: Sr. De’Onte Arnett \\ Jr. Silvano Altamirano

C: Jr. Sal Conaboy OR So. Evan Mulrooney \\ So. Stephen Grommer

G: So. Andrew Zeller \\ Jr. Gary Harraka \\ RS-Fr. Maurice Shelton

T: Sr. Nick Klemm \\ Jr. Jake Wheeler \\ RS-Fr. Michael Dunn

TE: Sr. Dave Stinebaugh \\ RS-So. Daniel Adams \\ RS-Fr. P.J. Gallo OR RS-Fr. Brian McMahon

QB: Jr. Ricardo Young \\ So. Dustin Dailey

TB: So. Brandon Ross \\ So. Albert Reid \\ RS-Fr. Joe Riddle

FB: Jr. Tyler Cierski \\ RS-Fr. Kenneth Goins

WR: So. Stefon Diggs \\ RS-Fr. Tyrek Cheeseboro \\ Sr. Regis Whittington

WR: So. Nigel King \\ So. Malcolm Culmer \\ Sr. T.J. Ehrie


DE: So. Quinton Jefferson OR Sr. Justin Anderson \\ RS-Fr. Ty Tucker

NT: Jr. Darius Kilgo \\ So. Nate Clarke \\ Jr. Alex Walker \\ RS-Fr. Azubuike Ukandu

DE: Jr. Keith Bowers \\ RS-Fr. Roman Braglio \\ RS-Fr. Joe Rosenblatt

OLB: Jr. Alex Twine OR So. Avery Thompson

ILB: Sr. Bradley Johnson \\ So. Shawn Petty

ILB: Jr. L.A. Goree \\ RS-Fr. Abner Logan \\ RS-Fr. Brock Dean

OLB: Sr. Marcus Whitfield \\ Jr. Ytannick Cudjoe-Virgil \\ Jr. Clarence Murphy

CB: Sr. Dexter McDougle \\ So. Alvin Hill \\ Sr. Tony Perry

S: So. Sean Davis OR Jr. A.J. Hendy

S: So. Anthony Nixon \\ So. Zach Dancel \\ So. Undray Clark \\ Jr. Rashid Conteh

CB: Jr. Jeremiah Johnson \\ Sr. Isaac Goins \\ Fr. Will Likely

Special Teams

PK: So. Brad Craddock \\ Jr. Michael Tart \\ So. Brendan Magistro

P: So. Nathan Renfro \\ Fr. Sam Retzky

LS: Sr. Greg Parcher \\ RS-Fr. Christian Carpenter