(Courtesy Maryland athletics)

Of the nine Division I schools sending both men’s and women’s lacrosse teams to the NCAA tournament, just four are hosting a cross-gender doubleheader this weekend — Syracuse, North Carolina, Penn State and Maryland.

The undefeated Maryland women’s lacrosse team (19-0), ranked first nationally, earned the top overall seed when the bracket was announced Sunday. The automatic bid came from winning its fifth straight ACC championship, 12-8 over North Carolina. Senior Katie Schwarzmann, the two-time ACC offensive player of the year, has scored 51 goals and dished out 23 assists this season. Six Terps, including Schwarzmann, earned IWLCA all-region honors, too.

Schwarzmann and fellow senior Alex Aust have been named finalists for the Tewaaraton Award, given to the top player in college lacrosse. The ceremony will be held May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington. The reception begins at 6:30 p.m. and the ceremony will start at 8.

Maryland will host the Towson (CAA automatic qualifer)-Stony Brook (America East automatic qualifer) winner on Sunday at noon, officially kicking off their nation-leading 29th NCAA tournament appearance. Their 51 wins, 16 title game berths and 10 championships also rank first all-time.

For the 11th straight year, the men’s lacrosse team will also appear in the tournament after receiving an at-large berth and No. 6 seed. Maryland, the second seed in the ACC tournament, was bounced in the ACC semifinals by Virginia, its second loss in three games.

The Terps (10-3) righted the ship with an 18-6 drubbing of Colgate last Saturday, and will now host Cornell on Sunday at 1 p.m. at Byrd Stadium on ESPN2. The Big Red (12-3) earned an at-large bid from the Ivy League.

Maryland holds a 13-2 all-time advantage in the series, but hasn’t met Cornell since 2000. The Big Red won NCAA title games against the Terps in 1971 and 1976, but Maryland took a 1974 semifinals matchup.

The winner advances to face either No. 3 Ohio State or Towson on Saturday, May 18, in the quarterfinals at Byrd Stadium. No. 1 Syracuse, Bryant, No. 8 Penn State and Yale round out the bracket’s College Park portion.