Your weekly spin through the non-revenue sports at Maryland.

Women’s lacrosse

The undefeated top-seeded Maryland women’s lacrosse team thumped Stony Brook, 11-3, on Sunday in the NCAA tournament second round. The Post’s Alex Prewitt was on the scene, and will again be there for Saturday’s NCAA quarterfinal against Duke at noon at the Field Hockey & Lacrosse Complex. The winner will take on either fourth-seeded Syracuse or fifth-seeded Florida in the Final Four on May 24 in Villanova, Pa. The Terps will be gunning for their fifth straight national semifinal berth.

Men’s lacrosse

The Maryland men’s lacrosse team had its season ended by Cornell in a 16-8 loss on Sunday at Byrd Stadium in the NCAA tournament first round. The Post’s Christian Swezey has the details.

If you’re still hankering for some NCAA men’s lacrosse tournament action, Byrd Stadium will host two quarterfinals on Saturday starting at 12:30. Cornell will face No. 3 Ohio State in the first game, followed by top-seeded Syracuse against Yale. Tickets are on sale now at or by calling the Maryland ticket office at 1-800-IMA-TERP.

Track and field

Senior Moriah Young and junior Amina Smith led Maryland at the ECAC/IC4A meet last weekend in Princeton, N.J. Young had a career-best and Maryland-record finish in the hammer throw with a distance of 186-00 to earn eighth place. The previous record was 185-06 and dated back to 2008. Smith took third in the high jump with a height of 5-10.50, a season high and the sixth-best height cleared in Maryland outdoor track and field history.

The Terps will be back in action for the NCAA East Preliminary rounds starting Thursday in Greensboro, N.C.


Lindsey Schmeiser was named ACC freshman of the year Wednesday, becoming the first Maryland player to earn the honor since 1996. She led the league in RBI this year with 59. The shortstop hit .347 on the season and was named to the all-ACC first team. The Terrapins Maryland fell to Virginia Tech, 8-5, on Thursday in the ACC quarterfinals in Tallahassee. Schmeiser hit her first career grand slam in the bottom of the third to tie the score, but the Terps couldn’t hold on. Maryland finished 31-26 overall, 13-8 in ACC play.

Terp Awards

Student-athletes, coaches and teams were honored Tuesday for prowess in academics, community service and athletics at the second annual Terp Awards, co-sponsored by the Terrapin Club and the `M’ Club, held at the Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center on campus.

  • John Guckeyson Male Athlete of the Year: Patrick Mullins, men’s soccer
  • Suzanne Tyler Female Athlete of the Year: Alyssa Thomas, women’s basketball
  • Male Rookie of the Year: Stefon Diggs,football
  • Female Rookie of the Year: Taylor Cummings, women’s lacrosse
  • Terrapin Cup Team of the Year: women’s lacrosse
  • Male Team Coach of the Year: Sasho Cirovski, men’s soccer
  • Female Team Coach of the Year: Cathy Reese, women’s lacrosse
  • President’s Cup Team GPA Awards: men’s golf and women’s cross country
  • Academic Achievement (awarded to junior or senior from each team with the highest cumulative GPA, minimum 3.0) – Kyle Convissar, baseball; Logan Aronhalt, men’s basketball; Sequoia Austin, women’s basketball; Owen Blye, men’s lacrosse; Lucile Cancre, women’s track and field; Kayla Clarke, women’s soccer; Catie Coyle, volleyball; Bennett Fulper, football; Bridget Hawvermale, softball; Danielle Kauffman, field hockey; Helge Leikvang, men’s soccer; Elizabeth Manzi, gymnastics; Brad Molina, wrestling; Sean O’Leary, men’s track and field; Anna Roth, women’s cross country; Katie Schwarzmann, women’s lacrosse; Christine Shimel, women’s golf; Andrew Stein, men’s golf and Vroni Van Berlo, women’s tennis.
    • `M’ Club Postgraduate Scholarship (male and female who excelled academically and athletically, will have earned a degree by May 2013 and are pursuing postgraduate study) – Will Swaim and Janessa Pope.


  • Geary F. Eppley Award (male senior student-athlete with the highest GPA) – Brad Molina, wrestling
  • Charles H. Beebe Jr. Award (female senior student-athlete with the highest GPA) – Anna Roth, women’s cross country
  • Talbot T. Speer Award (male athlete whose extraordinary commitment and dedication serves as an inspiration to teammates, coaches and fellow student-athletes) – Taylor Kemp, men’s soccer
  • Charles P. McCormick Award (Senior from the state of Maryland contributing the most to athletics) – Katie Schwarzmann, women’s lacrosse
  • Founders Award (outstanding athletic ability, academic excellence, character and citizenship) – Alyssa Thomas, women’s basketball
  • James H. Kehoe Award (male and female student-athletes who exemplify the ideals of sportsmanship) – Kevin Dorsey, football; Adreene Elliott, volleyball
  • Silvester Watch (student-athlete who demonstrates courageousness in the face of adversity) – Josh Asper, wrestling
  • Maryland Watch (student-athlete who exhibits commitment to Maryland P.R.I.D.E. and demonstrates extraordinary leadership) – Sequoia Austin, women’s basketball
  • Jack Heise Award (outstanding service by a team manager) – Ryland Atkins, women’s basketball
  • Maryland Spirit Award (outstanding service by a member of the Spirit Squad) – William Evans
  • Lifetime Service Awards – Ben and Hotsy Alperstein; Jackie Heise
  • Maryland Impact Award (recognizing those who make a positive impact of the student-athlete experience on a national scale) – Dr. Bernard Franklin
  • Maryland Athletics Community Service AwardsC.J. Brown, football; Melissa Diepold, women’s lacrosse; Michael Ehrhardt, men’s lacrosse; Stephanie Giameo, gymnastics; TJ Guidice, wrestling; Dani Kram, gymnastics; Welma Luus, women’s tennis; Amber Melville, women’s track and field; Mamadou Niang, men’s track and field.
  • ACC Community Service AwardsLucile Cancre, women’s track and field; Domenic DeRobertis, wrestling; Janessa Pope, field hockey; Lindsey Puckett, field hockey; Kikanae Punyua, men’s track and field; Anna Roth, women’s cross country.
  • NCAA Champs / Life Skills Cup Team Winners – Wrestling and Gymnastics