With the Big Ten officially switching to a nine-game conference schedule in three years, everyone received their opponents for 2016 and 2017 seasons a little early. Consider it an opportunity for advance planning.

Given the competitive balance questions surrounding home/road splits for a nine-game schedule, East Division teams will host five home games each in 2016. The West Division earns the honor in 2017, alternating each year thereafter.

Here’s what Maryland received:

(*East Division game)


Oct. 1: Purdue

Oct. 8: at Penn State*

Oct. 15: Minnesota

Oct. 22: Michigan State*

Oct. 29: at Indiana*

Nov. 5: at Michigan*

Nov. 12: Ohio State*

Nov. 19: at Nebraska

Nov. 26: Rutgers*


Sept. 30: at Minnesota

Oct. 7: at Ohio State*

Oct. 14: Northwestern

Oct. 21: at Wisconsin

Oct. 28: Indiana*

Nov. 4: at Rutgers*

Nov. 11: Michigan*

Nov. 18: at Michigan State*

Nov. 25: Penn State*

Road games against Ohio State and Penn State come in separate years, though that three-week stretch in 2016 of Michigan-Ohio State-Nebraska should be rather brutal. Closing at home against Penn State in 2017 figures to excite.

This also means Maryland, which crosses over vs. Iowa and at Wisconsin in 2014 and at Iowa and vs. Wisconsin in 2015, won’t face Illinois until at least 2018.

Also this: