Randy Edsall will get more chances to play Syracuse, his alma mater. (Doug Kapustin for The Washington Post)

The Maryland football team has scheduled a home-and-home series with Syracuse, keeping at least one ACC program on the schedule after the Terrapins leap to the Big Ten next season. The Orange will host Maryland on Sept. 20, 2014, and visit College Park on Sept. 21, 2019, according to a finalized schedule obtained Thursday afternoon.

At ACC media day this July, Coach Randy Edsall told reporters that he hoped to schedule a game against Syracuse, his alma mater, even after Maryland leaves the conference.

Other new games revealed include a home contest against Football Championship Subdivision Towson, where Edsall’s former offensive coordinator Rob Ambrose coaches, on Sept. 9, 2017, and a home-and-home series with Temple on Sept. 15, 2018, at Byrd Stadium and Sept. 14, 2019, in Philadelphia.

Maryland was supposed to face Central Florida toward the end of the decade, but presumably that series was pushed back after the Big Ten announced it would move to a nine-game schedule. The conference has recommended against — but not banned — programs scheduling FCS schools, but Edsall said Thursday that since Maryland had already inked contracts with James Madison (Aug. 30, 2014), Richmond (Sept. 5, 2015), Howard (Sept. 3, 2016) and Towson, those games will remain until further notice.

The full schedules are below. Each season begins with the nonconference slate before Big Ten play begins. Maryland begins playing three nonconference games and nine conference games in 2016. Dates for 2018 and 2019 have not been announced yet, but East Division teams host five conference games in even-numbered years.


Aug. 30: James Madison

Sept. 6: at South Florida

Sept. 13: West Virginia

Sept. 20: at Syracuse

Sept. 27: at Indiana

Oct. 4: Ohio State

Oct. 18: Iowa

Oct. 25: at Wisconsin

Nov. 1: at Penn State

Nov. 15: Michigan State

Nov. 22: at Michigan

Nov. 29: Rutgers


Sept. 5: Richmond

Sept. 12: Bowling Green

Sept. 19: South Florida

Sept. 26: at West Virginia

Oct. 3: Michigan

Oct. 10: at Ohio State

Oct. 24: Penn State

Oct. 31: at Iowa

Nov. 7: Wisconsin

Nov. 14: at Michigan State

Nov. 21: Indiana

Nov. 28: at Rutgers


Sept. 3: Howard

Sept. 10: at FIU

Sept. 17: at West Virginia

Oct. 1: Purdue

Oct. 8: at Penn State

Oct. 15: Minnesota

Oct. 22: Michigan State

Oct. 29: at Indiana

Nov. 5: at Michigan

Nov. 12: Ohio State

Nov. 19: at Nebraska

Nov. 26: Rutgers


Sept. 2: at Texas

Sept. 9: Towson

Sept. 23: West Virginia

Sept. 30: at Minnesota

Oct. 7: at Ohio State

Oct. 14: Northwestern

Oct. 21: at Wisconsin

Oct. 28: Indiana

Nov. 4: at Rutgers

Nov. 11: Michigan

Nov. 18: at Michigan State

Nov. 25: Penn State


Sept. 1: Texas (at FedEx Field)

Sept. 8: at Bowling Green

Sept. 15: Temple

HOME: Michigan State, Ohio State, Rutgers, Minnesota, Illinois

AWAY: Indiana, Michigan, Penn State, Iowa


Aug. 31: Bowling Green

Sept. 14: at Temple

Sept. 21: Syracuse

HOME: Indiana, Michigan, Penn State, Nebraska

AWAY: Michigan State, Ohio State, Rutgers, Minnesota, Purdue