(John McDonnell/The Washington Post)

On the brink of summer break, the Maryland football team announced its new leadership council for the 2014 season, which will serve in lieu of captains for the second straight year. The members act as liaisons between their positions and the Terrapins coaching staff, often collaborating with Coach Randy Edsall on decisions for the program.

Six of the 11 leadership council members, named by Edsall and his assistants, are repeat members. The list is as follows, with returners designated by an asterisk:

Quarterback C.J. Brown*

Running back Albert Reid*

Wide receiver Deon Long

Tight end P.J. Gallo

Center Sal Conaboy*

Defensive end Andre Monroe

Outside linebacker Yannik Cudjoe-Virgil*

Outside linebacker Matt Robinson

Inside linebacker Cole Farrand*

Cornerback Jeremiah Johnson*

Kicker Brad Craddock

Last season, nose tackle Darius Kilgo and wide receiver Stefon Diggs both served on the leadership council, but neither were included this season. The Terps will continue to have game captains on a weekly basis. They finished spring football with the annual intrasquad scrimmage last Friday and now break before the summer session begins in June.