Maryland junior guard Melo Trimble was selected by both Big Ten media and coaches as an all-Big Ten first-team player, the conference announced Monday. It was Trimble’s third all-Big Ten designation after he was named to the first team by the media as a freshman and to the second team as a sophomore.

Trimble is averaging a team-best and career-high 16.9 points per game for Maryland (24-7, 12-6). In conference play, he finished with averages of 16.1 points, 4.2 assists and 3.9 rebounds per game. Trimble hit the game-winning three in Saturday’s 63-60 win over Michigan State in the regular season finale, securing a double-bye for the Terps in the Big Ten tournament.

The Upper Marlboro native, who played his high school ball at O’Connell, was one of two unanimous selections by the coaches. Purdue forward Caleb Swanigan, who was named Big Ten player of the year by the coaches and the media, was the other. Swanigan led the Big Ten in rebounding (12.6) and finished second in scoring (18.7).

Trimble and Swanigan were joined by Minnesota guard Nate Mason, Iowa guard Peter Jok and Wisconsin forward Ethan Happ as first-team selections.

The Terrapins are the No. 3 seed in the conference tournament, which begins Wednesday at Verizon Center. Maryland will play its first game Friday.

Here is the complete list of all-Big Ten selections:

First team:

Peter Jok, Iowa
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Nate Mason, Minnesota
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue (player of the year)
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin

Second team:

Miles Bridges, Michigan State (freshman of the year)
Malcolm Hill, Illinois
Bryant McIntosh, Northwestern
Derrick Walton, Jr., Michigan
Bronson Koenig, Wisconsin (coaches only)
Tai Webster, Nebraska (media only)

Third team:

Thomas Bryant, Indiana
Jordan Murphy, Minnesota
Tai Webster, Northwestern (coaches only)
Scottie Lindsey, Northwestern (coaches only)
Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin
James Blackmon, Jr., Indiana (media only)
Vincent Edwards, Purdue (media only)
Bronson Koenig, Wisconsin (media only)

Defensive team:

Ethan Happ, Wisconsin
Vic Law, Northwestern
Reggie Lynch, Minnesota
Dakota Mathias, Purdue
Zak Showalter, Wisconsin