Election Day, as it usually is, was a good day to be an incumbent.

The president was reelected, only one incumbent senator was defeated, and only about two dozen House incumbents will not be returning.

In fact, most House incumbents who lost on Tuesday lost in large part because their district boundaries were drawn in redistricting to be tougher. In fact, more than two-thirds (15 of 22) of confirmed losers in the House were drawn significantly more difficult districts and were considered top targets because of it. Four districts were bound to feature an incumbent loss because two incumbents were put into the same district.

In other words, as of right now, only seven House incumbents who didn't have the deck stacked against them by redistricting lost on Tuesday.

Rep. Joe Walsh (R-Ill.) lost Tuesday after Illinois Democrats drew him a very tough district.

And in the case of the lone incumbent who lost in the Senate -- Sen. Scott Brown (R-Mass.) -- it was in large part because he came from such a blue state.

Here's the complete list, along with members who still might lose as un-called races get sorted out.


* Rep. Ben Chandler (D-Ky.)

* Rep. David Rivera (R-Fla.)

* Rep. Betty Sutton (D-Ohio)

* Rep. Larry Kissell (D-N.C.)

* Rep. Bob Dold (R-Ill.)

* Rep. Judy Biggert (R-Ill.)

* Rep. Bobby Schilling (R-Ill.)

* Rep. Joe Walsh (R-Ill.)

* Rep. Roscoe Bartlett (R-Md.)

* Rep. Charlie Bass (R-N.H.)

* Rep. Frank Guinta (R-N.H.)

* Rep. Quico Canseco (R-Texas)

* Rep. Mark Critz (D-Pa.)

* Rep. Chip Cravaack (R-Minn.)

* Rep. Nan Hayworth (R-N.Y.)

* Rep. Ann Marie Buerkle (R-N.Y.)

* Rep. Kathy Hochul (D-N.Y.)

* Rep. Leonard Boswell (D-Iowa)

* Rep. Laura Richardson (D-Calif.)

* Rep. Howard Berman (D-Calif.)

* Rep. Joe Baca (D-Calif.)

* Rep. Pete Stark (D-Calif.)

* Sen. Scott Brown (R-Mass.)


Rep. Allen West (R-Fla.)

Rep. Mary Bono Mack (R-Calif.)

Rep. Brian Bilbray (R-Calif.)

Rep. Dan Lungren (R-Calif.)

Rep. Ron Barber (D-Ariz.)

Leading but not final

Rep. Mike McIntyre (D-N.C.)

Incumbent-versus-incumbent December runoff

Rep. Charles Boustany (R-La.) vs. Rep. Jeff Landry (R-La.)