The Washington Post

Who voted against Boehner for speaker and why?

Twelve Republicans voted against John Boehner's second term as speaker Thursday, making for a very tense final few minutes of the vote.

At one point, in fact, the number either voting for someone else or not voting reached into the high teens, raising the possibility that Boehner wouldn't secure a majority on the first ballot. Eventually, a few of those who hadn't voted — including Rep. Michele Bachmann (R-Minn.) — cast their ballots for Boehner.

Boehner won with 220 votes — six more than the 214 votes he needed. (A speaker needs only a majority of the actual votes cast, not of all members of the House. And here's the roll call.)

Below is a look at the defectors, whom they voted for, and our best guess as to why it wasn't Boehner:

Rep. Eric Cantor (3 votes)

Rep. Jim Bridenstine (R-Okla.) — conservative freshman who defeated Rep. John Sullivan (R-Okla.) in a primary

Rep. Steve Pearce (R-N.M.) — very conservative

Rep. Ted Yoho (R-Fla.) — conservative freshman who defeated Rep. Cliff Stearns (R-Fla.) in a primary

Former congressman Allen West (2)

Rep. Paul Broun (R-Ga.) — noted conservative maverick, Club for Growth favorite

Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-Tex.) — outspoken conservative

Rep. Raul Labrador (1)

Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.) — libertarian ally of former congressman Ron Paul (R-Tex.), recently stripped of committee assignments by House GOP leadership

Rep. Jim Jordan (1)

Rep. Tim Huelskamp (R-Kan.) — very conservative, recently stripped of committee assignments

Former comptroller general David Walker (1)

Rep. Walter Jones (R-N.C.) — frequently votes against his party, recently stripped of committee assignments

Amash (1)

Rep. Tom Massie (R-Ky.) — freshman conservative, favorite of the Club for Growth

Voting present (1)

Rep. Steve Stockman (R-Tex.) — has criticized Boehner for "being too harsh with conservatives"

Not voting (3)

Rep. Raul Labrador (R-Idaho) — conservative, frequent critic of Boehner

Rep. Mick Mulvaney (R-S.C.) — critic of Boehner's "Plan B" maneuver on the "fiscal cliff"

Boehner — speaker traditionally does not vote for himself or herself

And now a look at the Democrats who voted against Nancy Pelosi for speaker. Basically all of them are Blue Dog Democrats. And we would note that the defections are far less than the 20 who didn't vote for Pelosi in 2011.

Rep. Jim Cooper (2)

Rep. Mike McIntyre (D-N.C.)

Rep. Dan Lipinski (D-Ill.)

Rep. John Dingell (1)

Rep. Jim Matheson (D-Utah)

Rep. John Lewis (1)

Rep. John Barrow (D-Ga.)

Colin Powell (1)

Cooper (D-Tenn.)

Not voting (3)

Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-Calif.) -- her mother died recently

Lewis (D-Ga.) -- his wife died this week

Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.)

Aaron Blake covers national politics and writes regularly for The Fix.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Video curated for you.
Next Story
Chris Cillizza · January 3, 2013

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.