The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

Senate immigration bill: Who voted how (and why)

The Senate on Thursday passed its comprehensive immigration bill 68-32.

Despite earning the support of more than two-thirds of the Senate, though, it got the backing of fewer than one-third of Republicans and faces an uncertain future -- particularly with the House set to craft its own immigration bill.

Below is a look at at how the senators voted and why:

(And be sure to check out our whip list from before the vote for some more details on how each senator voted.)

Who voted for it?

All 54 members of the Democratic caucus (including independents Angus King of Maine and Bernie Sanders of Vermont) and 14 Republicans -- most of them from the establishment wing of the party.

Here are the Republicans, and why they voted 'aye':

* Sens. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), John McCain (R-Ariz.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.) and Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.) were all part of the so-called "Gang of Eight" which crafted the bill.

* Sens. Bob Corker (R-Tenn.) and John Hoeven (D-N.D.) crafted a border security deal last week.

* Sens. Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.) and Dean Heller (R-Nev.) come from swing states.

* Sens. Jeff Chiesa (R-N.J.) -- an appointee of New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie (R) -- Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) and Susan Collins (R-Maine) all come from blue states. Kirk and Collins were joined by another leading moderate, Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska).

* Sens. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), two longtime senators with reputations for cutting deals:

Who voted against it?

No Democrats and 32 Republicans -- the vast majority of them coming from red states and ranking among the most conservative members of the chamber.

Not all were from red states though. Here are some of the notables:

* Sens. Pat Toomey (R-Pa.) and Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) come from nominally blue states. Toomey already risked alienating conservatives, though, with his bipartisan attempt at a gun control compromise earlier this year. And Johnson is a down-the-line conservative.

* Sens. Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) and Rob Portman (R-Ohio) come from swing states. Portman was upset about his E-Verify amendment being excluded.

* All five Republican members of leadership voted no: Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Whip John Cornyn (R-Texas), Conference Chair John Thune (R-S.D.), Policy Committee Chair John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) and Conference Vice Chairman Roy Blunt (R-Mo.). And the sixth-ranking Republican, NRSC Chairman Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), also voted no after mistakenly voting yes initially.