The Washington Post

Where Ted Cruz’s marathon speech stands in history

Updated at 12:27 p.m.

Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Tex.) spoke on the Senate floor for 21 hours and 19 minutes on Tuesday and Wednesday, leaving him neck-and-neck with some of the longest filibusters ever.

While there remains disagreement about whether Cruz's speech qualifies as a filibuster, Cruz in the end spoke for longer than all but three official filibusters.

Here's a quick tip sheet counting down the longest filibusters in history and the time Cruz passed each of them:

9. Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) (2013): 12 hours, 52 minutes -- against CIA director nominee John Brennan

Cruz surpassed Paul at 3:34 a.m.

8. Sen. Robert Byrd (D-W.Va.) (1964): 14:13 -- against the 1964 civil rights act 

Cruz surpassed Byrd at 4:55 a.m.

7. Sen. Alfonse D’Amato (R-N.Y.) (1992): 15:14 -- against a tax bill

Cruz surpassed D'Amato at 5:56 a.m.

6. Sen. Huey Long (D-La.) (1935): 15:30 -- to require Senate confirmation for New Deal employees

Cruz surpassed Long at 6:12 a.m.

5. Sen. William Proxmire (D-Wis.) (1981): 16:12 -- against a debt ceiling increase

Cruz surpassed Proxmire at 6:54 a.m.

4. Sen. Robert La Follette (R-Wis.) (1908): 18:23 -- against a currency bill

Cruz surpassed La Follette at 9:05 a.m.

3. Sen. Wayne Morse (I-Ore.) (1953): 22:26 -- against the Tidelands Oil bill

Cruz would have needed to speak until 1:08 p.m. to surpass Morse.

2. D’Amato (1986): 23:30 -- against a military spending bill

Cruz would have needed to speak until 2:12: p.m. to surpass D'Amato.

1. Sen. Strom Thurmond (D-S.C.) (1957): 24:18 -- against the 1957 civil rights bill

Cruz would have needed to speak until 2:59 p.m. to surpass Thurmond.

Aaron Blake covers national politics and writes regularly for The Fix.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Videos curated for you.
Play Videos
Be a man and cry
Deaf banjo player teaches thousands
Sleep advice you won't find in baby books
Play Videos
Drawing as an act of defiance
A flood of refugees from Syria but only a trickle to America
Chicago's tacos, four ways
Play Videos
What you need to know about filming the police
What you need to know about trans fats
Syrian refugee: 'I’m committed to the power of music'
Play Videos
Riding the X2 with D.C.'s most famous rapper
Full disclosure: 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, 1 ghoul
Europe's migrant crisis, explained
Next Story
Sean Sullivan · September 25, 2013

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.