The House approved a bill early Sunday to keep the government open past midnight Monday by adding on two amendments favorable to most House Republicans.

The first amendment would repeal a tax on medical devices, which is slated to generate about $30 billion in revenue to help fund the new health-care law, known as Obamacare. The second amendment seeks to delay implementation of the new law until 2015.

So how did members vote? Let's take a look:


Final tally: 248 to 174.

How many Republicans voted yes?: 231.

How many Democrats voted yes?: 17.

How many Republicans voted no?: 0.

How many Democrats voted no?: 174.

How many lawmakers didn't vote?: 9.

Votes Notes: The big question with this vote was which Democrats would join Republicans in voting yes. They were: Reps. Jim Matheson (Utah), Scott Peters (Calif.), Bill Owens (N.Y.), John Barrow (Ga.), William Enyart (Ill.), Dan Maffei (N.Y.), Ron Barber (Ariz.), Patrick Murphy (Fla.), Mike McIntyre (N.C.), Nick Rahall (W. Va.), Kyrsten Sinema (Ariz.), Brad Schneider (Ill.), Tammy Duckworth (Ill.), John Delaney (Md.), Cheri Bustos (Ill.) and Sean Maloney (N.Y.) and Jerry McNerney (Calif.).

As CNN's Lisa Desjardins noted shortly after the vote, 20 fewer Democrats voted "yes" early Sunday than did on a similar vote in 2012. And as Chad Pergram of Fox News noted, the Democratic tally was a few short of the 22 who voted to repeal the tax back in July.

Several of the Democrats who voted yes represent competitive districts and several of them -- Barber, Maffei, Sinema, Duckworth, Delaney, Bustos, Schneider and Maloney -- are freshmen lawmakers tapped for the job during elections where Obamacare was a big factor.


Final tally: 231 to 192.

How many Republicans voted yes?: 229.

How many Democrats voted yes?: 2.

How many Republicans voted no?: 2.

How many Democrats voted no?: 190.

Votes Notes: The two Democrats voting yes were Matheson and McIntyre, who, as has been noted before, are the two-most vulnerable Democrats and almost always vote with Republicans on key or controversial votes. The two Republicans who voted for the measure were Chris Gibson (R-N.Y.) and Richard Hanna (R-N.Y.), who hail from two Upstate New York swing districts that Democrats plan to target aggressively next year.

Jeff Simon contributed to this report.