Same-sex couples wedded in New Jersey for the first time Monday  following a state Supreme Court ruling handed down Friday that cleared the way for them.

That means the number of states where gay marriage is legal now stands at 14 plus the District of Columbia. As shown on the map below, courtesy of The Washington Post graphics team, the vast majority of the states are in the Northeast or on the West Coast.

In six other states, civil unions are allowed. New Mexico, notably, is the only state that has no provision on same-sex marriage. The state Supreme Court there could decide whether it is legal in all counties.

About 10 years ago, the map would have looked very different. Massachusetts became the first state to legalize gay marriage, in November 2003.