The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

Congress’s biggest vote-missers — in 2 charts

Placeholder while article actions load

Reps. John Conyers (D-Mich.), Charles Rangel (D-N.Y.) and Don Young (R-Alaska) are the three longest-serving members of U.S. House. They are also three of the most likely members, over their 40-plus years in Congress, to have missed a vote.

New data crunched by Vocativ from shows the trio all rank among the 10 most frequent vote-missers in Congress, at more than 10 percent of votes each. Conyers tops them all, missing more than 16 percent of votes, while Young is No. 2 at nearly 15 percent.

Absenteeism isn't nearly as much an issue on the Senate side, but the leading vote-misser is a familiar name with 2016 ambitions: Sen. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.). He has missed 8.3 percent of votes since joining the Senate in 2011.

Fellow 2016ers Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Tex.) and Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.) also appear in the top 10.

Many of the members on these lists have missed votes for health reasons, and it should be emphasized that Young and Sen. Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii) have exceedingly long distances to travel to get to Washington.

Rubio's office notes that he is a father of four and, unlike many senators, he has not moved his family to Washington, D.C. He also keeps a busy fundraising schedule and acknowledges absences are likely to continue as he gears up for a potential 2016 run.

"It's not unusual for presidential candidates to miss Senate votes," Rubio spokesman Alex Conant said in a statement. "Sen. Rubio has not made a final decision about 2016, but he's seriously considering running for president and taking the necessary steps to prepare a competitive campaign."

The only potential 2016 candidate who doesn't appear on the missed-votes list? Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.).

The charts also do not include Sen. Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) and Rep. Bobby Rush (D-Ill.) because of extended health- and family-related absences. And they don't include Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.), who missed lots of votes while campaigning for president in 2008 (and to a lesser extent in 2000).

The numbers above are even more remarkable when you consider that there is a member who hasn't missed a single vote since winning her seat in 1997. That would be Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine).

The only other member who can say that: Sen. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), who has been in Congress for a grand total of two years.