Just 24 days before the first presidential debate of the general election, the commission in charge of the events unveiled a list of moderators that includes some of the biggest names in TV news: NBC's Lester Holt, ABC's Martha Raddatz, CNN's Anderson Cooper and Fox News Channel's Chris Wallace.

Holt will moderate the opening debate Sept. 26 at Hofstra University, Raddatz and Cooper will team up to lead a town hall-style forum at Washington University Oct. 9, and Wallace will handle the questioning at the final debate Oct. 19 at the University of Nevada. Elaine Quijano of CBS News will moderate the lone vice-presidential debate Oct. 4 at Longwood University.

Even before the announcement by the nonpartisan Commission on Presidential Debates, Democratic presidential candidate Hillary Clinton had agreed to participate in every event. Republican candidate Donald Trump, however, has not committed. He objects to the dates — two conflict with prime-time NFL games — and he told Time magazine last month that he will "have to see who the moderators are."

"I would say that certain moderators would be unacceptable, absolutely," he added.

Four years ago, the commission named moderators seven weeks ahead of the first debate. Raddatz is the only returning moderator from 2012 (she led the vice presidential debate), but all of this year's moderators bring experience from primary debates. Holt moderated a Democratic debate; Cooper moderated two. Wallace moderated three Republican debates, and Raddatz moderated one of each.