It's no secret that Google knows an awful lot about its users. And it has so many connected sites and services that it can be hard to keep track of where that information could show up online. But this week, the company rolled out a feature that helps you better understand and control what data the company is sharing about you to the public.

Dubbed the "About Me" page, the feature shows who can see things like your contact information, work history, education, and data points you've shared with the search giant. It also lets you edit or remove that data as well as control who can see it all in one place.

The page also includes a link to Google's "Privacy Checkup," which walks you through your current privacy settings step-by-step. This part isn't new and sometimes requires you to click off to other pages to fully manage settings, but it's worth reviewing.

The checkup starts with your Google+ profile -- letting you select which tabs are visible to people who visit your profile. Then the process continues to your phone numbers, where it lets you choose if you want people to be able to find you in Google services using that information.

Next is probably the most important section, headlined "Personalize your Google experience." From here, you can "press pause" on different ways that Google saves information about your activities on everything from your Web and audio activities to your location history.

Pausing these types of tracking means that the company will stop saving new information about how you use those services, but it won't delete records of previous activity. However, you can delete archives of that activity by following links off from this section. When you delete them, they stop being associated with your Google Account, although Google may still "store activity separately to prevent spam and abuse" and improve its services.

The last section focuses on advertising. You'll actually have to click off to a separate page to manage those settings, but from there you can opt-out of being served ads that are based on the online activities that Google tracks.

Going through the whole process can take some time -- especially clicking off to other sections that can help you fully understand exactly what the settings mean. But it's nice to have a centralized hub that can help you regain some measure of control over what Google knows about you and how it uses that information.