politicsElection 2016LIVE

Back to
Sen. Lindsey Graham: ‘I voted Evan McMullin for president’

Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.) has cast his ballot for president — and it went to neither fellow Republican Donald Trump nor Democrat Hillary Clinton.

Instead, Independent candidate Evan McMullin got his vote, Graham said in a series of tweets Tuesday afternoon.

“Voting for Hillary Clinton was always a non-starter and I couldn’t go where Donald Trump wanted to take the USA & GOP,” Graham said.

He added that he appreciated McMullin’s “views on a strong America and the need to rebuild our military.”

Graham, a former presidential candidate, suspended his campaign last December and was one of a handful of Republicans who early on said they would not back Trump.

2016 election aftermath: Trump wins, Clinton concedes

Follow along for the latest updates on Donald Trump’s surprising election win, reactions from around the world and the breakdown of exit polls.

See races and results for your state:
Local results