The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

Post Politics Now After dramatic first night, Jan. 6 panel plans several more high-profile hearings

The House select committee held its first prime-time session on June 9 after spending nearly a year investigating the Jan. 6, 2021, attack on the U.S. Capitol. (Video: Mahlia Posey/The Washington Post, Photo: Demetrius Freeman/The Washington Post)

Today, following a rare evening congressional hearing in which members of the House committee investigating the Jan. 6, 2021, attack on the U.S. Capitol blamed that day’s violence squarely on former president Donald Trump, the panel is planning additional high-profile hearings starting next week. Topics will include how Trump sought to pressure Vice President Mike Pence to halt or delay the electoral certification of Joe Biden’s win and other ways in which Trump sought to use his powers to overturn the presidential election results.

Meanwhile, President Biden continues to be in Los Angeles hosting the Summit of the Americas, a gathering of Western Hemisphere nations. Biden also plans an event focused on inflation, an issue that has dogged his presidency. The government reported Friday that inflation in May climbed 8.6 percent, compared to the year before, and remained at the highest level in 40 years.

Prices rose 1 percent compared to the previous month, according to the latest snapshot from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Your daily dashboard

  • 10:45 a.m. Pacific (1:45 p.m. Eastern): Biden delivers remarks on inflation at the Port of Los Angeles. Watch live here.
  • 1:05 p.m. Pacific (4:05 p.m. Eastern): Biden joins other leaders at the Summit of the Americas to adopt a migration declaration.
  • 5 p.m. Pacific (8 p.m. Eastern): Biden participates in the first of two fundraising receptions for the Democratic National Committee.

Got a question about politics? Submit it here. At 3 p.m. weekdays, return to this space and we’ll address what’s on the mind of readers.

Loading...