The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

Post Politics Now Biden, Democrats plan grand celebration next month of Inflation Reduction Act

President Biden rides a bicycle along the beach at Kiawah Island, S.C., on Aug. 14. Biden is there with his family on vacation. (Manuel Balce Ceneta/AP)

Today, President Biden remains on vacation on South Carolina’s Kiawah Island. He plans to sign the Inflation Reduction Act into law on Tuesday and deliver remarks, but the White House is preparing for a much larger celebration on Sept. 6, after Labor Day, when Americans are expected to pay more attention to what’s at stake in the fall midterm elections. In a statement Monday, the White House said that in the coming weeks Biden will host a Cabinet meeting focused on implementing the law and will travel across the country to highlight how the bill will help Americans. The long-delayed bill, passed by the House on Friday, aims to lower prescription drug costs, address global warming, raise taxes on some billion-dollar corporations and reduce the federal deficit.

Your daily dashboard

  • 1:30 p.m. Eastern time: Sen. Tim Scott (R-S.C.) appeared on Washington Post Live.
  • 11 a.m. Pacific (2 p.m. Eastern): Vice President Harris departed Los Angeles en route to Kauai, Hawaii.
  • 1 p.m. Pacific (4 p.m. Eastern): House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) held an event in San Francisco marking the 87th anniversary of Social Security. Watch here.

Got a question about politics? Submit it here. After 3 p.m. Eastern weekdays, return to this space and we’ll address what’s on the mind of readers.

Loading...