The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

Post Politics Now Warnock and Walker square off in highly anticipated debate in Georgia

Sen. Raphael G. Warnock (D-Ga.) and Republican challenger Herschel Walker. (Photographer: Megan Varner/Getty)

Today, Sen. Raphael G. Warnock (D-Ga.) and Republican challenger Herschel Walker, the former football star, faced off in one of the most anticipated debates in the midterm elections — a race that could tip the balance of party control in the U.S. Senate. The encounter in Savannah, Ga., is the latest in a string of debates in marquee Senate races, including one Thursday night in Wisconsin that quickly turned personal between Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) and Democratic challenger Mandela Barnes.

Meanwhile, former president Donald Trump on Friday lambasted the House select committee investigating the Jan. 6, 2021, attack on the Capitol but was silent in a letter to its chairman about whether he would comply with a subpoena to testify. President Biden is in California, where he will hold an event focused on prescription drug prices.

Your daily dashboard

  • 6:10 p.m. Eastern (3:10 p.m. Pacific): Biden delivered remarks on lowering costs for American families. Watch here.
  • 7 p.m. Eastern: Warnock and Walker debated. Watch here.
  • 8:30 p.m. Eastern (5:30 p.m. Pacific): White House press secretary Karine Jean-Pierre briefs reporters traveling on board Air Force One. Listen live here.
  • 10:10 p.m. Eastern (7:10 p.m. Pacific): Biden participates in a grass-roots volunteer event with the Oregon Democrats.
Press Enter to skip to end of carousel

Here's what to know:

6:10 p.m. Eastern (3:10 p.m. Pacific): Biden delivered remarks on lowering costs for American families. Watch here.
7 p.m. Eastern: Warnock and Walker debated. Watch here.
8:30 p.m. Eastern (5:30 p.m. Pacific): White House press secretary Karine Jean-Pierre briefs reporters traveling on board Air Force One. Listen live here.
10:10 p.m. Eastern (7:10 p.m. Pacific): Biden participates in a grass-roots volunteer event with the Oregon Democrats.

1/4

End of carousel

Got a question about politics? Submit it here. After 3 p.m. weekdays, return to this space and we’ll address what’s on the mind of readers.

Loading...