Here is a summary of the election results in Connecticut: (View full map)


President Obama was named the victor in Connecticut shortly after the polls closed, and picked up the state’s seven electoral votes with 55 percent of the vote.


Rep. Christopher S. Murphy (D) won nearly 53 percent of the vote in defeating wrestling executive Linda McMahon (R) in the race to succeed Sen. Joseph I. Lieberman. Republicans had hoped to pick up the open seat in their attempt to capture control of the Senate. McMahon also lost in a 2010 run. McMahon spent $46 million to Murphy’s $18 million, and another $10 million in independent money was spent, thought to be the most of any Senate race in the Northeast. President Obama cut an ad for Murphy.


Four of the five incumbents, all Democrats, were easy winners Tuesday night. In the race to succeed Murphy in the 5th District, considered a tossup between Democrat lawyer Elizabeth Esty and Republican state Sen. Andrew Roraback, Esty was declared the winner by the Associated Press.

More from PostPolitics:

- For full coverage of Election Night breaking news, including reporting from swing states around the country, follow The Post’s Election 2012 liveblog.

- The Grid aggregates the best multimedia, and commentary from across the social web in a clean, simple display.

- Updated election results on a county-by-county basis are available on the The Post’s election day map. Sort through the Senate, House, Gubernatorial, and Presidential election results.