Here is a summary of the election results in New York: (View full map)


Obama was declared the winner of New York’s 29 electoral votes by the Associated Press soon after the polls closed. The president won more than 62 percent of the vote in the Empire State.


Incumbent Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D) was declared the winner by the AP over Republican Wendy Long, in a race that was never close in pre-election polls. And those polls turned out to be correct as Gillibrand won more than 70 percent of the vote.


Daniel Maffei unseated freshman Republican Ann Marie Buerkle in a rematch of their 2010 race in the the 24th District in central New York. Another freshman Republican incumbent, Nan Hayworth, lost to Democrat Sean Maloney in the 18th District north of New York City. Democratic incumbents Timothy Bishop in the 1st District on eastern Long Island and Brian Higgins in the 26th District around Buffalo won their races, but Democratic incumbent Kathy Hochul lost in the 27th District in western New York against former Erie County executive Chris Collins.

More from PostPolitics:

- For full coverage of Election Night breaking news, including reporting from swing states around the country, follow The Post’s Election 2012 liveblog.

- The Grid aggregates the best multimedia, and commentary from across the social web in a clean, simple display.

- Updated election results on a county-by-county basis are available on the The Post’s election day map. Sort through the Senate, House, Gubernatorial, and Presidential election results.