Here is a summary of the election results in South Dakota: (View full map)


Republican standard-bearer Mitt Romney garnered the state’s three electoral votes according to the Associated Press. ABC also called the state for Romney, within minutes of the official closing of the polls. The victory was not unexpected; no Democratic presidential candidate has carried the state since 1964.


First-term incumbent Kristi Noem, a Republican, was easily reelected as the state’s only member of the U.S. House. In listing her as the winner over Democrat Matt Varilek, the Associated Press gave her a margin of more than 17 percentage points with more than 80 percent of the state’s precincts reporting.

More from PostPolitics:

- For full coverage of Election Night breaking news, including reporting from swing states around the country, follow The Post’s Election 2012 liveblog.

- The Grid aggregates the best multimedia, and commentary from across the social web in a clean, simple display.

- Updated election results on a county-by-county basis are available on the The Post’s election day map. Sort through the Senate, House, Gubernatorial, and Presidential election results.