The Washington Post and CBS' “60 Minutes" have won a News & Documentary Emmy Award for “The Whistleblower”, a joint investigation into how the drug industry triumphed over the DEA in its effort to combat the nation’s opioid crisis, the deadliest drug epidemic in U.S. history. The Post’s reporting team included Scott Higham and Lenny Bernstein with contributions from Steven Rich, Alice Crites and Alice Li. From 60 Minutes, the team included Bill Whitaker, Ira Rosen and Sam Hornblower.

The joint investigation has previously been honored with a Peabody Award, a Scripps Howard Foundation award and the 2018 Hillman Prize for Broadcast Journalism.

The News & Documentary Emmy Awards promote excellence in broadcast journalism in 49 categories. Winners of the 39th Annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards were announced by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) at a dinner in New York on October 1st, 2018. See the full list of winners here.