The White House News Photographers Association recognized Whitney Shefte as Multimedia Journalist of the Year and Jabin Botsford as Photographer of the Year in its 2019 contests.

The Post also won the top prize in the issue reporting, news story and multimedia package categories in WHNPA’s Multimedia Contest. The Post’s still photographers took first place prizes in six categories in the Still Photography Contest, including domestic news and international news.

Additionally, the WHNPA honored former Washington Post photojournalist Margaret Thomas, PhD, with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Thomas joined The Washington Post as its first female photojournalist in 1966 and worked there for nearly three decades.

The winners will be honored at the annual ‘Eyes of History®’ gala on June 15, 2019, at the Ritz-Carlton in Washington.