The Post was also named a finalist for editorial writing and feature writing

The Washington Post’s David Fahrenthold was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for National Reporting for his 2016 investigation of Donald Trump’s claims of charitable giving and the questionable practices of the Trump Foundation. In response to Fahrenthold’s reporting, Trump’s foundation formally admitted making an illegal campaign contribution, for which Trump paid a $2,500 penalty and admitted violating self-dealing rules on multiple occasions. Trump also fulfilled his promise to donate $1 million of his own money to charity nearly four months after the initial vow and only after repeated, public inquiries from Fahrenthold. He also broke the story of the 2005 Access Hollywood tape — a powerful scoop that elicited two apologies from Trump.

“David never took things at face value. He checked out everything with amazing persistence. And he went about his work in an innovative, highly resourceful manner – soliciting the assistance of the public via Twitter. In that way, he reimagined how investigative reporting can be carried out while also providing a level of transparency into his work that fascinated the public,” said Martin Baron, executive editor of The Washington Post. “With a sparkling, highly engaging writing style, David cracked the façade of Donald Trump’s personal philanthropy, delivering the sort of accountability that’s needed in political coverage.”

Editorial Page Editor Fred Hiatt was named a finalist for editorial writing for his coverage of the presidential race which included The Post’s non-endorsement of Trump- the most read editorial in The Post’s history- and the board’s endorsement of Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton. National reporter Eli Saslow was recognized for feature writing for his stories exploring pockets of white America in 2016 where grievance, racism, and despair had taken root and were flourishing in historic ways.

See all of The Post’s winning coverage.

Since 1936, The Washington Post has won 63 Pulitzer Prizes.

[See the newly released ebook of Fahrenthold’s reporting]