ACES: The Society for Editing recognized The Washington Post as a winner of the 2017 National Headline Contest in the individual and staff award categories.

The Post’s Jim Webster and Panfilo Garcia won third place and an honorable mention respectively in the individual category for national news organizations. The multiplatform editors whose work was captured in the staff award include JJ Evans, Panfilo Garcia, Bruce Guthrie, Wayne Lockwood, Jordan Melendrez, Doug Norwood and Jim Webster.

The Headline Contest Award aims to reward exceptional headline writing in all types of media. Winners were announced at the awards banquet during ACES’ 22nd annual conference in Chicago.