The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

2019 Fall All-Met: Boys’ soccer first team, second team, honorable mention

Arundel forward Spencer Hanks is the All-Met boys' soccer Player of the Year. (Marvin Joseph/The Washington Post)

Players of the year | Football offense | Football defense | Girls’ soccer | Boys’ cross-country | Girls’ cross-country | Field hockey | Volleyball

The following student-athletes have been selected to The Washington Post’s 2019 All-Met team for boys’ soccer:

Player of the Year

Spencer Hanks, F, Sr., Arundel

A dynamic difference-maker and gifted finisher, Hanks has been the most dangerous player in Anne Arundel County for some time. This fall, he totaled 30 goals and five assists while leading the Wildcats to a 14-3-1 record and an appearance in the Maryland state semifinals.

First team

Michael Adekanmbi, F, Jr., Bowie

Maybe the most dangerous player in Prince George’s County, Adekanmbi totaled 22 goals and 11 assists.

Oscar Barrientos, MF, Sr., Gaithersburg

The crafty midfielder capped his Trojans career by netting 11 goals — four off free kicks — and 13 assists.

Garrett Bridgwater, D, Sr., Leonardtown

The stout defender helped the Raiders to their first Maryland 4A championship game appearance, and his team gave up just three goals during an undefeated regular season.

Caleb Ehrenhaft, GK, Sr., St. Albans

The Swarthmore commit anchored one of the area’s best defenses, giving up just four goals all season.

Ryan Elie, MF, Sr., Gonzaga

The attacking midfielder was integral to the Eagles’ championship runs in the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference and D.C. State Athletic Association brackets.

Hunter Lee, D, Sr., Whitman

A strong and reliable center back, Lee had a key goal for the Vikings in the Maryland 4A championship game.

Nick Mayronne, D, Sr., Good Counsel

The two-year captain helped the Falcons to their first WCAC title-game appearance in 31 years.

Jordan McMillen, D, Sr., The Heights

The James Madison commit put up ridiculous offensive stats from the Cavaliers’ back line, totaling 15 goals and six assists.

Ian Poe, MF, Sr., Whitman

The motor of the Vikings’ midfield, Poe played a key role in back-to-back state championship campaigns.

Ousman Touray, F, Jr., Wilde Lake

Touray’s 23rd and final goal of the season was the overtime winner in the Maryland 3A championship game.

Alek Wroblewski, F, Sr., Wootton

The Mount St. Mary’s commit finished with 26 goals for a team that lost only to eventual champion Whitman.

Coach of the Year

Scott Waller, Gonzaga

In his 14th season as the varsity coach on Eye Street, Waller led a team that evolved slowly but surely. The 2007 All-Met Coach of the Year helped engineer a drastic turnaround after his team started 2-5-5. The Eagles ended it by going 12-1-1, including DCSAA and WCAC championship victories.

Second team

Javan Aching, D, Sr., International High at Langley Park

Ethan Belcher, GK, Sr., Chesapeake

Kwame Duncan, F, Sr., Laurel

Diego Gomez, MF, Jr., DeMatha

Alex Krause, F, Sr., River Hill

Pandelis Margaronis, MF, Jr., St. John’s

Finn McCaslin, D, Sr., Gonzaga

Francis Meyer, MF, Sr., Wootton

Colton Ward, D, Sr., Georgetown Prep

Zion Williams, F, Sr., Sidwell Friends

Zach Velli, MF, Sr., St. Albans

Honorable mention

Aidan Abril, D, Jr., O’Connell

Chase Albritton, GK, Sr., St. Stephen’s/St. Agnes

Jonathan Alvarado, F, Jr., International High at Langley Park

Thanos Androus, D, Sr., Episcopal

Jovani Aparicio, D, Jr., Magruder

Jose Argueta-Membreno, F, Sr., Bladensburg

Zach Barrette, MF, Sr., School Without Walls

Gordie Bernlohr, M, Sr., Severna Park

Jason Caro, F, Sr., Good Counsel

Julia Elguera, D, Sr., River Hill

Kristian Fletcher, F, Fr., Landon

Kevin Hernandez, MF, Sr., Hammond

Anderson Herrera, F, Jr., Annapolis

Michael Hicks, GK, Jr., Bowie

Lukas Huntington, MF, Sr., Sidwell Friends

Khairy Jones, D, Sr., St. Charles

Tim Lee, F, Sr., Damascus

Ben Pigg, F, Sr., Northern

Denzel Pinyin, D, Sr., Wilde Lake

Diego Ramirez, MF, Sr., Sherwood

Will Rissing, D, Sr., Paul VI

Felix Rivera, F, Sr., Rockville

Alvaro Robles, F, Jr., Patuxent

Daniel Schehl, F, Sr., Georgetown Prep

Andrew Schug, F, So., Huntingtown

Hayden Sheppard, F, Jr., Georgetown Day

Nic Shirley, MF, Jr., Northwest

John Sullivan, GK, Sr., O’Connell

Shaku Wagay, F, Sr., Bladensburg

Connor Yager, F, Sr., Leonardtown

— Text by Michael Errigo