The following student-athletes have been selected to The Washington Post’s 2019 All-Met team for field hockey:

Player of the Year

Maddie McGaughey, MF, Sr., Langley

As McGaughey used slick stickwork to deke around a defender in the Virginia Class 6 state final, a group of high school football players serving as volunteers at the tournament were wowed. “Breaking ankles and scoring goals!” one exclaimed. Even their untrained eyes recognized the center midfielder as a step above the competition as she led Langley to its first state championship. The William & Mary commit had 16 goals and seven assists as she powered the Saxons to a 20-1-1 record.

First team

Gurnoor Dhaliwal, F, Jr., Riverside

An offensive powerhouse, she notched 40 goals and 22 assists for the 20-1 Rams.

Lauren Gerold, F, Sr., Good Counsel

The Washington Catholic Athletic Conference player of the year scored 21 goals, including the winner in overtime of the conference title game.

Emma Gladstein, F, Sr., Marriotts Ridge

The Delaware commit led her team in scoring en route to the Maryland 2A championship, the first state title in program history.

Zene Howard, MF, Sr., Quince Orchard

With 18 goals and 15 assists, Howard helped lead the Cougars to the Maryland 4A semifinals.

Lillian Kistner, MF, Sr., St. John’s

The centerpiece of the Cadets’ offense, Kistner tallied 18 goals and 10 assists and earned all-WCAC honors for the third straight season.

Caitlin Koehler, D, Sr., Spalding

Koehler anchored a Cavaliers defense that posted 11 shutouts.

Amayah Romandia, D, Sr., Heritage

She was the backbone of a defense that allowed 13 goals all season — and just three against district competition.

Sara Silarszka, F, Jr., Fairfax

Her 19 goals and 20 assists paced the Rebels and earned her a spot on the Virginia Class 6 all-state first team.

Lila Slattery, MF, Sr., Severna Park

The Northwestern commit scored 22 goals and added 18 assists for the Maryland 4A state champion.

Anna Stribling, MF, Sr., Woodson

A Virginia Class 6 all-state first-team selection, she provided shutdown defense as well as six goals and seven assists.

Eve Vickery, GK, Sr., Chesapeake

Although the Cougars fell short of a fourth consecutive state championship appearance, the Delaware commit impressed with her athletic and aggressive style.

Coach of the Year

Stacie Gado, Marriotts Ridge

The only coach the program has ever known, Gado guided the Mustangs from a one-win inaugural season in 2006 to a state championship this year. Marriotts Ridge (12-3-1) escaped overtime, double overtime and a shootout en route to the state final, in which it edged Oakdale, 1-0, for the title. After the season, Gado announced she is stepping down, but she leaves with her legacy secured.

Second team

Lauren Aguilar, D, Sr., Severna Park

Amelie Fieser, D, Sr., Riverside

Lauren Gresham, F, Sr., Patriot

Lana Hamilton, MF, So., Arundel

Alyssa Maryanopolis, GK, Sr., West Springfield

Lily Moore, D, Jr., National Cathedral

Adriana Risi, MF, Jr., Chantilly

Kaiya Sabur, MF, Sr., Old Mill

Mikayla Schoff, D, Sr., Langley

Esha Shah, MF, Sr., Mount Hebron

Sophie Whiteway, F, Sr., Holton-Arms

Honorable mention

Lucia Alem, MF, Sr., Churchill

Shelby Bumgarner, D, Jr., Spalding

Ashley Button, MF, Jr., Sherwood

Bridget Cassata, D, Sr., W.T. Woodson

Therese Delp, MF, So., Walter Johnson

Bella DeMaso, F, Sr., West Potomac

Kate Distefano, F, Jr., Holy Child

Gillian Dumont, GK, Sr., Marshall

Sammy Dupcak, MF, Sr., Broadneck

Zoe Elliott, MF, Sr., Patuxent

Abigail Harrington, D, Sr., Georgetown Visitation

Hannah Johnston, GK, Sr., Dominion

Victoria Kennedy, MF, Sr., Colgan

Quinn Kindbom, MF, Sr., River Hill

Zoe Krawietz, MF, Sr., Robinson

Christina Marshall, F, Sr., Paint Branch

Kaelyn Mashburn, MF, Sr., Rockville

Adison Moore, MF, Sr., Westfield

Sara Pique, D, Sr., Arundel

Meagan Quick, MF, Jr., South River

Kelly Rose, MF, Sr., Broad Run

Vivian Rowan, MF, Jr., Stone Ridge

Nikki Seven, F, Jr., Arundel

Maddy Spotts, GK, Sr., Springbrook

Rebecca Stewart, MF, Sr., Washington-Liberty

Casey Stratton, GK, Sr., Centennial

Aly Trumbull, D, Sr., Langley

Gwendolyn Via, D, So., Fairfax

Chloe Westhoff, D, Sr., Yorktown

Sam Wootten, MF, Jr., Broad Run

— Text written by Kate Yanchulis