The following student-athletes have been selected to The Washington Post’s 2019 All-Met team for football defense:

Player of the Year

Bryan Bresee, DL, Sr., Damascus

The dominant lineman spent the past three years terrorizing Montgomery County, a habit that made him the nation’s top recruit in the Class of 2020 according to several outlets. The Clemson commit won two Maryland 3A titles. In this year’s championship victory, he forced a fumble and scored a rushing touchdown while playing with a broken left hand.

First team

Ahmed Bailey, DL, Sr., Friendship Collegiate

A dangerous edge player, Bailey finished with 21 sacks as the Knights won the D.C. State Athletic Association Class A championship.

Zion Dayne, DL, Sr., South County

The towering senior played both ways for the Virginia Class 6 champions, totaling more than 100 tackles and 20 sacks as a defensive lineman and lending power to the Stallions rushing attack. Committed to Yale.

Jalil Farooq, DB, Jr., Wise

The two-way star was a big reason the Pumas returned to the top of Maryland 4A football this season. Farooq nabbed an interception and ran for a touchdown in the championship game.

Kris Jenkins, DL, Sr., Good Counsel

The Michigan commit was a force in the backfield with 12.5 sacks, three forced fumbles and five pass breakups.

Robert Longerbeam, DB, Sr., T.C. Williams

The Titans’ most important player, Longerbeam had eight interceptions at defensive back and accounted for 34 touchdowns at quarterback. He’s committed to Rutgers.

Mitchell Melton, LB, Sr., Good Counsel

He finished with 87 tackles and tied a school record with 14 sacks. The Ohio State commit also had an interception, four forced fumbles and five pass breakups.

Joshuah Moten, DB, Sr., National Christian

A true lockdown cornerback, Moten was targeted just 16 times in 10 games. Of those 16 passes, he broke up eight and intercepted four. He’s committed to Texas A&M.

Tiyahn Pelham, DB, Sr., Coolidge

Pelham was a game-changer in the D.C. Interscholastic Athletic Association Stripes Division, catching 16 touchdown passes and six interceptions and helping the Colts won the Gravy Bowl.

Demeioun Robinson, LB, Jr., Quince Orchard

The heart of a dominant Cougars defense, Robinson totaled 14 sacks and 21 tackles for loss.

Mekhail Sherman, DL, Sr., St. John’s

He was everywhere on a St. John’s defense loaded with talent. He’s committed to Georgia.

Clay Wargo, LB, Sr., Huntingtown

The two-time Southern Maryland Athletic Conference defensive player of the year was a tackling machine, finishing with 207 for the Hurricanes.

Second team

Tobi Adedoyin, LB, Sr., Paint Branch

Beau Brade, DB, Sr., River Hill

Damien Gant, DB, Sr., Anacostia

Coziah Izzard, DL, Sr., DeMatha

Kemarte Jefferson, DL, Sr., McKinley Tech

Taizse Johnson, DL, Jr., St. John’s

Haris Khan, LB, Sr., South County

Anthony Martin, DB, Sr. Ballou

Harold Miles, LB, Sr., Good Counsel

Dominique Perry, DL, Sr., Northwest

David Vincent-Okoli, DB, Sr., Bullis

Honorable mention

Max Ahiakpo, DL, Sr., Westfield

Chaz Allison, LB, Sr., Broad Run

Nico Asmar, LB, Sr., South County

Aaron Beckwith, DL, Sr., Northwest

Charles Bell, DB, Sr., Quince Orchard

Matt Binkowski, LB, Sr., Battlefield

Konner Blount-Foster, DB, Sr., St. Charles

Antoine Booth, DB, Jr., DeMatha

Marcus Bradley, DL Jr., Quince Orchard

Nayquan Brooks, LB, Jr., KIPP

E.T. Bushra, DB, Sr., Westfield

Caelen Carson, DB, Sr., North Point

Jahmeer Carter, DL, Sr., Spalding

Dasean Dixon, DL, Jr., Theodore Roosevelt

Quinn Donoway, DL, Sr., St. Mary's (Annapolis)

Rodney Faulk, DL, Sr., Gonzaga

Eric Ford, LB, Jr., Landon

Tim Furgeson, LB, Sr., Damascus

Monkell Goodwine, DL, Jr., National Christian

Elijah Grooms, DB, Sr., Paint Branch

Joseph Groves, DB, Sr., Loudoun County

Jason Hawkins, Utility, Sr., Freedom-Woodbridge

Kye Holmes, DB, Jr., Gonzaga

Keyshawn Hunter, DL, Sr., H.D. Woodson

Jesse Jackson, LB, Sr., Dunbar

Will Johnson, DB, Jr., St. Mary's Ryken

Ryan Jones, LB, Jr., Friendship Collegiate

Mikail Kamara, LB, Sr., Stone Bridge

Jalen McNair, DB, Sr., Good Counsel

Romy Miner, DB, Sr., Broad Run

Shawn Murphy, LB, So., Stonewall Jackson

Preston Murray, DB, Sr., Damascus

Tyler Negron, DL, Sr., Patriot

Quinn Osborne, LB, Sr., McNamara

Greg Penn, LB, Jr., DeMatha

John Pius, LB, Sr., Yorktown

Jack Plank, LB, Sr., Georgetown Prep

Dylan Price, DL, So., Sidwell Friends

Elijah Rucker, DL, Sr., Mount Vernon

Antoine Sampah, LB Sr., Woodbridge

Jason Scott, DB, Sr., Good Counsel

Drew Sotka, LB Sr., Glenelg

Dorian Strong, DB, Jr., Wise

Sean Tucker, DB, Sr., H.D. Woodson

Tre Williams, DL, Sr., St. John's

Tyleik Williams, DL, Sr., Stonewall Jackson