The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

2020 Winter All-Met: Boys’ indoor track first team, relays, honorable mention

St. Stephens/St. Agnes's Malcolm Johnson Jr. is the boys' track Athlete of the Year. (Marvin Joseph/The Washington Post)
Placeholder while article actions load


Boys’ basketball | Girls’ basketball | Girls’ indoor track | Boys’ swimming and diving | Girls’ swimming and diving | Ice hockey | Wrestling

The following student-athletes have been selected to The Washington Post’s Winter 2020 All-Met team for boys’ indoor track:

Athlete of the Year

Malcolm Johnson Jr., Jr., St. Stephen’s/St. Agnes

The football star won the 60-meter dash (6.81 seconds) at the Millrose Games and recorded the third-best 55-meter time in the country (6.26) at the VA Showcase. He had a strong showing at the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association championships, placing first in the 55 (6.35).

First team

David Coles, Jr., T.C. Williams

He leaped a personal best 46-8.75 to win the triple jump at the Virginia Class 6 meet.

Collin Greene, Sr., Howard

The Naval Academy commit recorded a personal best 55-11.5 in the shot put at the Maryland 4A meet.

Dante Jackson, Jr., Episcopal

He helped guide Episcopal to first-place finishes in the 4x400 and 4x200 relays at the VISAA meet.

Jalen Jasmin, Sr., Reservoir

He had the nation’s ninth-best long jump (23-7) while setting a personal best time in the 55-meter dash at the Howard County meet.

Kyle Lund, Sr., Oakdale

Lund won the 800 and 1,600 at the Maryland 2A meet.

Tyler Lynch, Sr., Battlefield

His personal record 15-6 in the pole vault won first place at the Virginia Class 6 meet.

Alonzo McBryde, Sr., Paint Branch

McBryde was a threat in the 55-meter dash all season, winning his county and region before finishing second at the Maryland 4A championship.

Mordecai McDaniel, Sr., St. John’s

He finished first in the 55 and 300 at the D.C. State Athletic Association meet.

Brandon Nya, Sr., Bowie

He dazzled during the VA Showcase, winning the 200 meters (21.48) and 300 meters (33.75).

Seydi Sall, Sr., Richard Montgomery

At the VA Showcase, he recorded the fourth-best 500-meter time in the nation (1:04.01). At the Maryland 4A meet, Sall won the 500 meters and helped the 4x800 relay team set the meet record.

Carlos Shultz, Sr., Loudoun Valley

The decorated distance runner had the best 3,200-meter time in Virginia during the VA Showcase.

Anthony Smith, Sr., Huntingtown

Smith shined during the Maryland 3A meet, winning the 55-meter dash (6.36) and 300 meters (34.49). He finished second in the high jump and helped the 4x200 relay team to first place.

Luke Tewalt, Sr., Washington Latin

Among runners in D.C., Tewalt recorded the top times in the 3,200 meters, 1,600 meters, 800 meters, mile and two mile.

Coach of the Year

Valerie Harrington, Huntingtown

Harrington guided Huntingtown through a memorable season that ended with the Hurricanes capturing their first Maryland 3A title. The Hurricanes’ 4x200 relay team earned first place in the Southern Maryland Athletic Conference, the Maryland 3A East region and at the Maryland 3A meet.


4x200: Jaylen Barringer, Jr.; Trei Thorogood, Jr.; Nick Newman, Jr.; James Ansah, Jr. (Freedom-Woodbridge): 1:28.79

4x400: Aiden McDuffie, So.; Myles Pendarvis, Fr.; Jay Pendarvis Jr., Sr.; Jabril El-Amin, Sr. (Bullis): 3:22.54

4x800: Carlos Shultz, Sr.; Mateo Barreto, Sr.; Matthew Smith, Jr.; Aidan Soto, So. (Loudoun Valley): 7:51.53

Honorable mention

Ashton Allen, Sr., Bullis

Loick Amouzou, Sr., Hammond

Oumar Balde, So., Bowie

Jaeden Burke, Sr., Paint Branch

Khari Butler, So., St. John’s

Emperor Campbell, Sr., Wilson

Cullen Capuano, Sr., Gonzaga

Laurenz Colbert, Jr., Eleanor Roosevelt

Patrick Donnelly, Jr., Gonzaga

Kenny Dudley Jr., Jr., Friendship Collegiate Academy

Joshua Edmonds, Jr., Wise

Aidan Goldenberg-Hart, Sr., Richard Montgomery

Nyckoles Harbor, Fr., Archbishop Carroll

Henry Hardart, Sr., Archbishop Spalding

Daequan Harvin, So., Dunbar

Carl Hicks, Jr., Pallotti

Xavier Jemison, So., McLean

Nicholas Karayianis, Sr., Bullis

Max Karen, Sr., Champe

Sam Keeny, Sr., South River

Bryce Lentz, Jr., Colgan

Joshua Lesesne, So., Archbishop Carroll

Aaron Lindsey, Jr., Episcopal

Surafel Mengist, Sr., Springbrook

Anish Nanjappa, Sr., River Hill

Leroy Neal, Jr., Richard Montgomery

David Okoli, Sr., Bullis

Austin Rios-Colon, So., St. John’s

Tamrat Snyder, Sr., Damascus

Raymon Stevens, Sr., Wilson

Garrett Suhr, Sr., Richard Montgomery

Kam’Ryn Thomas, Jr., DeMatha

Joshua Thompson, So., St. John’s

David Warmington, So., Archbishop Carroll

Brian West, Sr., DeMatha

Jalen Williams, So., Archbishop Carroll

Zeddy Williams, Jr., Episcopal

Ryan Willie, Sr., Bullis

— Text by Ryan McFadden