The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

2020 Winter All-Met: Ice hockey first team, second team, honorable mention

Quinn Kennedy of St. John's in the hockey Player of the Year. (Marvin Joseph/The Washington Post)
Placeholder while article actions load

Player of the Year

Quinn Kennedy, Jr., St. John’s

Kennedy was a game-changer all season for the Cadets, racking up 27 goals and 48 assists for an average of three points per contest. He was named the player of the year in the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference and Mid-Atlantic Prep Hockey League.

First team

Collin Berke, G, Sr., Archbishop Spalding

Berke averaged close to 40 saves while receiving first-team all-Mid-Atlantic Prep Hockey League honors.

Raymond Booth, D, Sr., Tuscarora/Westfield

Booth, who received first-team all-Northern Virginia Scholastic Hockey League honors for defense, was Tuscarora/Westfield’s points leader.

Patrick Chapman, D, Sr., St. John’s

Chapman was a good puck mover and provided strong defense and leadership for the Cadets.

Farrell Dinn, F, Sr., Gonzaga

One of the top offensive players in the area, Dinn had 28 goals and 21 assists.

Katherine Khramtsov, F, So., Stone Ridge

Khramstov played a vital role in Stone Ridge’s second consecutive perfect season, recording 42 goals.

She went to Russia annually to hone her skills. Now she’s an elite hockey prospect.

Owen Morgan, F, Sr., Chantilly

Morgan earned his second straight NVSHL player of the year award after producing 45 goals and 53 points.

Jason Townsend, F, Sr., T.C. Williams

The Capital Scholastic Hockey League player of the year registered 21 goals and 20 assists while helping the Titans reach the championship game.

Coach of the Year

David Erickson, Landon

Erickson helped Landon to a 15-2 record and the Interstate Athletic Conference title. The Bears also captured the MAPHL crown for the first time since 2016. Early in the season, the Bears won eight straight games while outscoring opponents, 71-12.

Second team

Matthew Brille, F, Jr., Landon

Alex Chaconas, F, Sr., Georgetown Prep

Owen Grainger, D, Jr., T.C. Williams

Jacob Hookman-Vassa, D, So., Landon

Will Hopewell, G, Sr., Riverside

Dimitry Kebreau, F, Jr., St. John’s

Will Lawrence, F, So., Landon

Matthew Price, F, Sr., Broad Run

Honorable mention

Jennifer Albero, F., So., St. John’s

Alex Aracich, G, Sr., Patriot

Ethan Boyagian, D, So., Washington-Liberty

Riley Burch, G, Sr., Lake Braddock/Park View

Jack Callaghan, F, Sr., Mount Hebron

Matthew Clarke, F, So., Washington-Liberty

Sean Corcoran, F, Jr., Patriot

Lincoln Crosby, G, So., DeMatha

Aidan Darnell, F, Sr., Riverside

Luca Docking, F, Sr., Gonzaga

Gabe Dombrowski, F, Sr., Flint Hill

Kareem El-Bashir, F, So., Bishop O’Connell

Tyler Eyester, F, So., Quince Orchard

Michael Fields, F, Jr., West Springfield/Manassas Park/Falls Church

Brendan Fielman, D, Sr., Bishop O’Connell

Patrick Fitzgerald, F, Jr., Georgetown Prep

Ryan Giles, F, Sr., Landon

Joey Graham, F, Sr., Landon

Elon Granston, G, Sr., Georgetown Prep

Celia Hodges, D, So., St. John’s

Jesse Horacek, F, So., St. John’s

David Kelley, D, Sr., Glenelg

Luke Leydig, F, Sr., DeMatha

Noah Loggia, F, Jr., Chantilly

Samuel Margel, F, Jr., Churchill

Luke Mattson, F., Jr., T.C. Williams

Ethan McNiff, G, Jr., Woodbridge

Tyler Mercier, F, Jr., DeMatha

Brandon Metheny, D, Sr., DeMatha

Lizzy Mohler, F, Jr., Georgetown Visitation

Ellen Montgomery, G, Jr., Stone Ridge

Jack Mowrey, D., Jr., Gonzaga

Peter Roche, F, So., Georgetown Prep

Tyler Rose, D, So., St. John’s

Gavin Ross, G, Sr., Marriotts Ridge

Luke Rubin, F, Fr., Reservoir

Jackson Ryan, F, Jr., Colgan

Alex Vouras, F, Sr., Bishop O’Connell

Max Weinstein, G, Sr., Landon

Charlie Wojcik, F, Sr., Lake Braddock/Park View

Trevor Ziffer, G, Jr. St. John’s

— Text by Ryan McFadden