The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

2021 Fall All-Met: Boys’ soccer first team, second team and honorable mention

Landon's Kristian Fletcher is the 2021 All-Met Player of the Year in boys' soccer. (Marvin Joseph/The Washington Post)
Placeholder while article actions load

Players of the year | Football (offense) | Football (defense) | Girls’ soccer | Volleyball | Field hockey | Boys’ cross-country | Girls’ cross-country

The following student-athletes have been selected to The Washington Post’s 2021 All-Met team for boys’ soccer:

Player of the Year

Kristian Fletcher, MF, Jr., Landon

Fletcher was a force for the Bears, totaling 26 goals and nine assists in 17 games. A dynamic midfielder with plenty of speed and flair, Fletcher scored the lone goal in the Interstate Athletic Conference championship game, delivering Landon a share of the league title. A week later, he flew to England for a two-week trial with Manchester United’s under-19 squad. He is expected to pursue professional opportunities in Europe next season.

First team

Kareem Davis, F, Jr., Bowie

Davis emerged as the latest star for the Bulldogs, a perennial contender, by racking up 18 goals and 15 assists.

Wayne Frederick, F, Sr., St. Albans

The Duke commit missed part of the season because of injury but returned in time to play a major role in the postseason as St. Albans captured a share of the IAC title and won the D.C. State Athletic Association tournament.

Josue Guzman, MF, Sr., Northwestern

The crafty midfielder stepped up when his team needed him most, netting the game-winning goal in the state semifinal and then delivering a goal and two assists to help the Wildcats earn the Maryland 4A crown.

Bardia Hormozi, F, Jr., Walter Johnson

A quick and technical finisher, Hormozi shouldered the scoring load for one of Montgomery County’s strongest teams this fall.

Rustin Khosravi, MF, Sr., St. Albans

A four-year starter for one of the area’s best programs, Khosravi is a complete player in the midfield. He totaled 15 goals and seven assists this season.

Nick Laffey, F, Jr., St. John’s

Laffey was arguably the face of the Cadets’ resurgence this year, scoring 24 goals and providing 13 assists as St. John’s played one of the best seasons in school history.

Tommy Myers, MF, Sr., Good Counsel

He was a major part of the Falcons’ run to the WCAC title, the program’s first since 1988. A leader in the midfield, Myers posted 12 goals and 14 assists.

Colin Prendergast, D, Jr., Gonzaga

A skilled defender who could also slide up into the midfield, Prendergast finished as the team’s second-leading scorer.

Mikah Seger, GK, Sr., Lackey

Co-player of the year in the Southern Maryland Athletic Conference, the Maryland commit totaled 69 saves while allowing just seven goals this fall.

Zach Tettemer, D, Sr., Broadneck

A key piece for a two-loss Bruins team, Tettemer anchored the back line while also posting six goals and three assists.

Nicholas Ulrich, D, Sr., Bethesda-Chevy Chase

A first team all-state selection at left back, Ulrich was vital to a Barons team that made it to the Maryland 4A quarterfinals.

Coach of the Year

Victor Ramirez, Northwestern

In his sixth year leading his alma mater, Ramirez guided a resilient Wildcats team to its first Maryland state championship since 1995. Northwestern, representing a Prince George’s County soccer community that is often overlooked, knocked off perennial powers Bethesda-Chevy Chase and Severna Park before toppling Northwest, 3-2, in a dramatic final.

Second team

Kaden Bryan, MF, Jr., Marriotts Ridge

Axel Gamez, F, Sr., Richard Montgomery

Max Gleason, MF, Sr., The Heights

Mikey Johnson, F, Sr., Broadneck

Leo Kugel, GK, Sr., Einstein

Max Lopez, D, Sr., Bladensburg

Daniel Medina, MF, Sr., Magruder

Ben Miller, F, So., Pallotti

Andrew Schug, F, Sr., Huntingtown

Joseph Tchakam, D, Sr, Blake

Patrick Wiercinski, D, Sr., Good Counsel

Honorable mention

Eddie Aguilar, MF, Sr, Centennial

Birchard Allen, D, Sr., DeMatha

Nik Avillo, MF, Jr., Walter Johnson

Gus Bachmann, F, Sr., Severna Park

Conrad Brady, MF, Jr., Landon

Josue de la Paz Mejia, MF, So., Northwestern

Mamadou Diabate, F, Sr., Bell

Connor Dillon, GK, Sr., Bishop O’Connell

Grant Della Rocca, MF, Sr., Georgetown Prep

Stefan Gately, D, Jr., Gonzaga

Kyle Gislon, F, Sr, Rockville

Darryl Greenwood, F, Jr., Bishop McNamara

Ben Harms, D, Sr., Leonardtown

Blake Hoskins, F, Sr., North County

Anthony Ibarra, D, Sr., Damascus

Siji Jolayemi, F, Jr., Glenelg

Liam Keiller, GK, Jr., Quince Orchard

Webb Kosich, MF, Sr., St. Mary’s Ryken

Jimmy Linsenmeyer, F, Sr., Mt. Hebron

William Martin, F, Sr., DeMatha

Skyler McCarthy, GK, Sr., Old Mill

Ben Mulford, GK, Sr., Georgetown Prep

Kevin Osorio, MF, Sr., Bowie

Kevin Prado, MF, Sr., Gaithersburg

Evan Rabush, F, Jr., Leonardtown

Jabari Ramirez, F, So., Coolidge

Abdou Toure, F, Sr., Episcopal

Renzo Vargas, F, Sr., Northwest

Sebastian Vargas, D, Sr., Northwest

Jason Vincent, F, Sr., Magruder