The Washington PostDemocracy Dies in Darkness

2021 Fall All-Met: Field Hockey first team, second team, honorable mentions

Yorktown’s Emily Stafford is the 2021 All-Met Player of the Year in field hockey. (Marvin Joseph/The Washington Post)
Placeholder while article actions load

Players of the year | Football (offense) | Football (defense) | Boys’ soccer | Girls’ soccer | Volleyball | Boys’ cross-country | Girls’ cross-country

The following student-athletes have been selected to The Washington Post’s 2021 All-Met team for field hockey:

Player of the Year

Emily Stafford, MF, Jr., Yorktown

The Virginia High School League Class 6 player of the year scored the game-winning goal in the state championship, Yorktown’s first in school history. Stafford was an “absolute terror to try to contain in the midfield,” one opposing coach said. The University of Pennsylvania commit had 18 goals and 19 assists and shut down the opponent’s best players in one-on-one situations, controlling each game she played to drive the Patriots to a 22-1 record.

First team

Emma Abromavage, F, Sr., Fairfax

A leader on Fairfax’s state semifinal squad, Abromavage had 18 goals and 13 assists.

Anya Arseneau, MF, Sr., Robinson

Arseneau scored eight goals and added eight assists, factoring heavily in the Rams’ offensive and defensive corner strategy as a strong distributor.

Lizzie Baggett, MF, Sr., Churchill

One of the smoothest dribblers in the area, she glided across the field en route to 11 goals and 18 assists as a captain and team offensive MVP for the state finalist Bulldogs.

Halley Beaudoin, MF, Jr., Fairfax

A dynamic scorer, with 21 goals and 27 assists, Beaudoin led the Lions in those categories.

Lilly Comello, D, Sr., St. John’s

She captained a Cadets defense that didn’t give up a single goal in Washington Catholic Athletic Conference play and yielded only four goals overall.

Zoe Day, D, Sr., Severna Park

Day used her extraordinary calm to pilot Severna Park to 10 shutouts and its second straight Maryland 4A state championship.

Katie Fichtner, MF, Sr., Spalding

In Spalding’s Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland “A” conference final against Garrison Forest, Fichtner moved up to the forward line to help with scoring before moving back on defense to protect a lead in the final quarter. The versatile captain finished the year with 12 goals and nine assists.

Lana Hamilton, MF, Sr., Arundel

Hamilton posted 15 goals and 12 assists, developing her leadership skills throughout the season to bring Arundel a Maryland 3A state championship after an 0-6 start to the season.

Kylie McKinley, GK, Jr., Potomac School

Despite facing a steady flow of shots, McKinley allowed only 1.77 goals per game, as the Dartmouth commit made 217 saves and had three shutouts during the season.

Leah Morrison, F, Jr., St. John’s

Morrison scored a sudden-death overtime goal to clinch the WCAC title for St. John’s. The Syracuse commit and conference player of the year scored 24 times as a junior.

Coach of the Year

Leslee Brady, Spalding

Brady entered this year facing the prospect of playing six freshmen, more than she has ever had to use. She tapped into their talent, sliding them into place for a juggernaut that went 16-1 and defeated Garrison Forest (its lone regular season defeat) in the IAAM Conference “A” championship, 3-0. Brady also won her 300th career game midway through September.

Second team

Kylie Corcoran, MF, So., Crofton

Reese Delp, MF, Sr., Walter Johnson

Ava Drexler-Amey, MF, Jr., Severna Park

AJ Eyre, MF, So., Glenelg

Kamryn Henson, MF, So., Glenelg

Charlotte Kramer, GK, Jr., Severna Park

Becca Lawn, D, Sr., Spalding

Puja Nanjappa, MF, Jr., River Hill

Maddie Vasilios, MF, Jr., River Hill

Gwendolyn Via, D, Sr., Fairfax

Alexis Williams, F, So., Yorktown

Honorable mention

Elizabeth Boatwright, MF, Sr., Georgetown Visitation

Gabby Bollini, GK, Sr., Madison

Caroline Brickley, MF, Sr., Yorktown

Ilana Brodsky, F, Sr., Churchill

Delia Chen, MF, Jr., Blair

Katie Clarke, MF, Fr., Loudoun Valley

Bridget Donovan, F, Sr., Spalding

Maya Everett, MF, Jr., Broadneck

Becky Felker, MF, Sr., Stone Ridge

Ellen Ford, F, Jr., Whitman

Natalie Freeman, F, Jr., Marriotts Ridge

Grace Gorham, D, Sr., Independence

Grace Jennings, MF, Jr., Churchill

Maddie Kandra, F, Sr., South River

Lauren Keast, MF, Jr., Bishop Ireton

Ashley Kennedy, MF, Jr., Washington-Liberty

Carley Mayers, MF, Sr., Colgan

Natalie Morgan, F, Sr., Oakton

Claire Moynihan, F, Sr., Robinson

Brigid Murray, D, Sr., St. John’s

Charley Noah, F, So., Good Counsel

Klara Pace, D, Sr., Bishop O’Connell

Maria Papas, MF, Sr., Justice

Emmy Pascal, F, Sr., St. Stephen’s and St. Agnes

Emma Payze, D, Sr., Marshall

Melina Risi, GK, So., Chantilly

Tess Satterfield, F, Jr., Madison

Katie Sponaugle, D, Sr., Justice

Mary Williams, F, Jr., Georgetown Visitation

Maeve Zimmer, GK, Jr., Bullis