All-Met Player of the Year Melo Trimble leads the Capital All-Stars into Saturday’s contest at T.C. Williams. (Richard A. Lipski/For the Washington Post)

Over the past 41 years, the Capital Classic has featured the likes of Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson and LeBron James taking the court against some of the top talent from the D.C. area. Now in its 41st installment, the nation’s longest running high school all-star basketball game will boast a new format with three games and six teams, opening the door for even more of the region’s best seniors to showcase their skills before moving to the college ranks.

“This year, I thought, rather than cut down the names, let’s just have two preliminary games and let all of the nominated players play,” said Capital Classic director and co-founder Bob Geoghan. “We wanted to give more guys a chance to participate if they wanted to play rather than being left out.”

The main event will take place at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, with All-Met Player of the Year and O’Connell guard Melo Trimble leading the Capital All-Stars against fellow McDonald’s All-American and Lincoln (N.Y.) guard Isaiah Whitehead and the U.S. All-Stars. The game will feature four Maryland recruits — Trimble, Potomac (Md.) guard Dion Wiley, West Town School’s Jared Nickens and Life Center Academy (N.J.) standout Trayvon Reed — as well as Virginia recruit B.J. Stith (Oak Hill).

The featured contest will be preceded by two games featuring local standouts, as the Metro North All-Stars take on the Metro South All-Stars at 3 p.m. and the Metro East All-Stars face the Metro West All-Stars at 5 p.m.

All games will be played at T.C. Williams High School in Alexandria. For more information, visit

Theodore Roosevelt All-Met Johnnie Shuler is part of a loaded backcourt for the Capital All-Stars. (Jonathan Newton/The Washington Post)

Capital All-Stars

Phil Booth, Mount St. Joseph’s (Villanova)

Jamall Gregory, Coolidge

Randy Haynes, Potomac (Va.) (New Mexico Junior College)

Alex Long, Riverdale Baptist

Dwayne Morgan, St. Frances (UNLV)

Chinanu Onuaku, Riverdale Baptist (Louisville)

James Palmer, St. John’s (Miami)

Trey Porter, Potomac (Va.) (George Mason)

Andrew Robinson, Springbrook

Johnnie Shuler, Theodore Roosevelt (La Salle)

Melo Trimble, O’Connell (Maryland)

Dion Wiley, Potomac (Va.) (Maryland)

Kevin Zabo, Brewster Academy (N.H.) (formerly of Montrose Christian) (San Diego State)

Coach: Chris Lun, Whitman

U.S All-Stars

Wade M. Baldwin IV, St. Joseph’s Metuchen (N.J.) (Vanderbilt)

Angel Delgado, The Patrick School (N.J.) (Seton Hall)

Terry Harris, Half Hollow Hills West (N.Y.)

Tyler Lindquist, Madison Memorial (Wis.)

Caleb Martin, Oak Hill Academy (Va.) (N.C. State)

Cody Martin, Oak Hill Academy (Va.) (N.C. State)

Ja’Quan Newton, Neumann Goretti (Pa.) (Miami)

Jared Nickens, West Town School (Pa.) (Maryland)

Trayvon Reed, Life Center Academy (N.J.) (Maryland)

Desi Rodriguez, Lincoln (N.Y.) (Seton Hall)

B.J. Stith, Oak Hill Academy (Va.) Virginia)

Isaiah Whitehead, Lincoln (N.Y.) (Seton Hall)

Coach: Dwayne “Tiny” Morton, Lincoln (N.Y.)

Metro North

Jared Gray, Bowie

Ibrahim Kallon, Wheaton

Demonte Ojinnaka, Blake (Cloud CC)

Russell Sangster, Bullis

Xavier Sewell, Clarksburg

Justice Sneed, Wise

Micah Till, Wise (N.C. State football)

Andre Walker, Bullis (Hofstra)

Jerome West, Laurel Prep

Keif Williams, Kennedy

Coach: Rob Garner, Wise

Metro South

Chief Amoah, Edison

Robert Bacon, Oakton

Cam Gregory, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes (Loyola)

Byron Hawkins, Clinton Christian (Towson)

Daniel Noe, Bishop Ireton (Navy)

Gavin Peppers, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes

Marcquise Reed, Capitol Christian (Robert Morris)

Clint Robinson, C.H. Flowers

Davon Taylor, Central

Jarin Hilson, St. Mary’s Ryken (North Carolina A&T)

Coach: Tony Bentley, Wakefield

Metro East

Darian Anderson, St. John’s (Fairleigh Dickinson)

Sam Briggs, Coolidge

Darian Bryant, St. John’s (George Washington)

Steffen Davis, Maret (Shepherd)

Jibreel Faulkner, Theodore Roosevelt (Cal State Northridge)

Christian Lutete, McKinley Tech (Phillips Exeter Prep)

Mike Morsell, St. John’s (Towson)

Quadree Smith, Potomac (Md.)

Darius Speaks, Crossland

Danzel Wright, National Collegiate

Coach: Rob Nickens, Theodore Roosevelt

Metro West

Brandon Alston, Herndon (Lehigh)

Kent Auslander, Herndon

Trevor Blondin, Battlefield (Seton Hill)

Marcus Brumsey Jr., Edison

Will Gregorits, Lake Braddock (University of the Sciences)

Re’Quan Hopson, Wakefield

Cam Jackson, Handley (Wofford)

Patrick Moseh, Bishop Ireton (Wheeling Jesuit)

Paul Rowley, Loudoun Valley (William & Mary)

Andy Stynchula, W.T. Woodson

Coach: Doug Craig, W.T. Woodson