Thomas Bruce and DeMatha capped another stellar season with a pair of private school tournament titles. (Toni L. Sandys/The Washington Post)

1. DeMatha (33-4) LW: 2

After falling in the WCAC championship, the Stags bounced back behind conference player of the year Markelle Fultz to win the Maryland Private Schools and Alhambra Catholic Invitational titles.

2. Meade (26-2) LW: 8

The Mustangs were the first Anne Arundel County school to capture the Maryland 4A title in 25 years and did so in dominant fashion, winning their last two games by 30-plus points.

3. Westfield (27-2) LW: 1

The Bulldogs survived a triple-overtime game to reach their first Virginia 6A state final but had their 25-game win streak snapped in a last-second loss to Colonial Forge.

4. St. John’s (27-9) LW: 3

Led by Maryland commit Anthony Cowan and four other new starters, the DCSAA champs made it to the Alhambra final before falling to DeMatha.

5. Gonzaga (25-12) LW: 6

The WCAC champion and DCSAA runner-up Eagles fell to St. John’s at Alhambra but finished the season with a convincing win against John Carroll.

6. Montrose Christian (24-4) LW: 4

The Mustangs fell in the Maryland Private Schools tournament semifinals but the loss came on the heels of a 12-game win streak and strong play from junior Alani Moore.

7. Oakland Mills (23-3) LW: 14

The Scorpions captured their first state title since 1990 behind the stellar play of Will Robinson Jr., who helped them through a number of close calls during their 2A run.

8. Centennial (25-2) LW: 15

The Eagles rode clutch shooting by brothers Elijah and Isaiah White and a balanced offensive effort to the Howard County title and Maryland 3A state championship.

9. Westlake (23-5) LW: 7

Omar Alston averaged 17.6 points per game to lead the Wolverines back to the Maryland 3A title game, where they lost for the second year in a row.

Meade rolled through the Maryland 4A bracket to claim its first boys’ basketball state championship. (Doug Kapustin/For The Washington Post)

Jeff Dowtin Jr. helped lead a second-half surge to send St. John’s past Gonzaga in the DCSAA title game. (Doug Kapustin/For The Washington Post)

10. Potomac (Va.) (22-4) LW: 5

The Panthers made it back to the Virginia 5A state tournament and featured 5A North region player of the year Keijon Honore, but their title defense ended in a semifinal loss to Norview.

11. Wakefield (23-2) LW: 10

The Warriors compiled one of their best stretches in school history, winning 21 straight games, thanks in large part to Virginia 5A North region first-teamer Dominique Tham.

12. National Christian (26-5) LW: 11

Sharpshooting junior Christian Matthews paced the Eagles, who went nearly two months without a loss before falling in the Capital Beltway championship to Clinton Christian.

13. Maret (22-5) LW: 12

Behind a breakout sophomore year from Luka Garza, the Frogs swept their way to the Mid-Athletic Athletic Conference regular-season title before losing in the tournament semifinals.

14. Eleanor Roosevelt (20-4) LW: 13

Riding a 13-game win streak, the Raiders won the Prince George’s County championship for the second time in three years, but fell short of a second Maryland 4A state title in three years.

Host B.J. Koubaroulis runs through the top plays from the week of basketball in the D.C., Maryland and Virginia area. (Video by Nick Plum for Synthesis/Koubaroulis LLC./The Washington Post)

15. Springbrook (22-4) LW: 9

The Blue Devils surged toward the end of the season with four players averaging double-digit points before falling to eventual Maryland 4A champ Meade in the state semifinals.

16. Bethesda Chevy-Chase (20-6) LW: 18

The Barons survived consecutive overtime games to win the Maryland 4A West region title and a state semifinal at the buzzer, but ultimately lost to Meade in the state final.

17. Stone Bridge (23-3) LW: 17

After dropping their first two games, prolific scorer Jason Jolly led the Bulldogs to 23 straight wins and their first Virginia Conference 14 title before they fell the 5A North region semifinals.

18. H.D. Woodson (26-6) LW: 19

Junior Antwan Walker earned DCIAA player of the year honors and the Warriors won their first conference title after going undefeated against District public school competition.

19. Douglass (20-5) LW: NR

The Eagles’ first 20-win season in more than 15 years ended with an overtime loss to eventual Maryland 2A state champion Oakland Mills last week.

20. St. Andrew’s (21-6) LW: NR

The Lions got off to a school-record 14-0 start and finished their historic season by winning the Mid-Atlantic Athletic Conference tournament championship.

On the bubble: Clinton Christian (21-10), W.T. Woodson (19-10), Largo (20-5), Magruder (20-5), Richard Montgomery (21-2)

(Final records in parenthesis)