Gonzaga senior Jimmy Taylor added his own chapter to one of the area’s most storied golf rivalries Tuesday as the Eagles and Georgetown Prep renewed acquaintances at the Metros championship.

Taylor fired a 4-under 68 at P.B. Dye Golf Club in Ijamsville, earning medalist honors by three strokes and lifting the senior-laden Eagles to a 17-shot victory over the Little Hoyas (383). Bullis was third at 398 and DeMatha fourth at 440.

Yes, Taylor said, Gonzaga was looking forward to Tuesday’s showdown. The schools played in the regular season opener, which Gonzaga won by seven strokes, but Tuesday’s round came with both teams at the peak of their seasons.

“Not that we didn’t have a great season before this,” said Gonzaga Coach Mike Hanagan , whose team won the WCAC championships last week at Northwest in Silver Spring, “but this was an opportunity that I think they all wanted to take advantage of.”

Taylor began the afternoon as dominant as he was last week in shooting 66 to win the conference medal. He shot 5-under 31 on the front nine, finishing by draining a birdie putt in front of his coach.

At that point, onlookers began to buzz about how low a number Taylor could post. In fact, Taylor was entertaining similar thoughts.

“I thought I could shoot 65 or something,” Taylor said. “I played solid on the back nine, kind of stumbled in. But we won.”

As he approached the 18th green, his teammates called him Tiger Woods. The senior confessed that he three-putted on 16 and four-putted the par-5 17th, dropping to 4 under. No matter. As he finished signing his scorecard, one teammate asked, “Can I have an autograph after that?”

Eagles teammate Evan Owan was second to Taylor for medalist honors, though his status was in doubt because an airline lost his clubs after he flew home from a tournament in Texas over Easter weekend. He tried borrowing from a teammate, but no other set was the right fit. He did not get his own clubs back until Thursday, in time to shoot 71 at a team qualifier Saturday and 71 on Tuesday.

Georgetown Prep won the first edition of this championship in 1934, and Gonzaga won its first title in 1938. Since 2005, the schools have combined to win 10 of 15 trophies — five each. Georgetown Prep won last year, Gonzaga the previous spring.